Lebanese Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
fantastic, i was looking for something to put on our donairs. after reading reviews i roasted to garlic and cut the lemon juice in half. thanks for sharing the recipe, and thanks to all the reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystabar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I roasted the garlic first which mellowed the flavor. Also reduced EVOO to 1 1/2 cups and added 8 oz. of plain Greek yogurt. Added some freshly ground black pepper, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I loved this! My boyfriend did not care for it. Not for the faint of heart, but if you like middle eastern food, this is GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abreitbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circle, Montana, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This sauce was EXCELLENT but was a bit runny - I'd cut down on the lemon a bit just for the consistency. I only used 1.5 C of oil. My daughter (who isn't a big garlic fan) even loved it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This recipe was a good base to start with. I didn't want as much sauce, so I cut down on the ingredients. I used mostly canola oil and a little olive oil ,but next time, I think I would just use canola. I also cut down on the lemon juice and still found it a little too lemony. I used salt to taste and added a lot more garlic, since my husband and I LOVE garlic - the more the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I love garlic sauce! Growing up, my best friend was lebanese and her Dad got me hooked on it! This recipe is similar to his but not quite, and therefore not quite as good (in my opinion) I used less olive oil and instead of sticking it in the blender, I used a garlic press, makes things chunkier and more flavorful. Yumm! My sauce turned out perfect, but since I didn't follow the recipe perfectly I can't give it five stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I tried to only make a third of the recipe but all I got was a runny, overly lemoned, nothing like the garlic sauce I wanted sauce. I ended up adding some sugar and oregano and using it for salad dressing since I didn't want to throw it in the trash and it was really good that way. Sorry, maybe I did something wrong since it seemed to work for so many others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Mine came out a bit watery. I would lessen the amount of lemon according the taste and texture next time. I would also add about 1 cup of mayonaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILUV2COOK25

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
A little watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Very good garlic taste. I was looking for the garlic sauce that they use on shawarma which is a little thicker than this and has less lemon zing. It was too much lemon for me, so I added a bit more salt to combat the zing. Next time I'm going to try it with about half the oil and less than a quarter of the lemon juice, with salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

How to Make Chimichurri Sauce

This herby, garlicky, tangy condiment is good on just about everything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States