Lebanese Chicken and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I make this recipe all the time, use only juice of 1/2 lemon, try adding about 1 tspn each of cumin and "7" spice, or allspice. I turn the broiler on for the last 20-15 minutes until all the lemon juice evaporates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
Very simple and pure dish. Excellent! This is not another one of those boring recipes that calls for tons of cheese and canned creamy soups for flavor. I will make this weekly. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I love this dish. Although I cut my potatoes into thick (about 3/4" thick) and then fry them until a little dark golden brown. While I am frying the potatoes, I boil the chicken in water. After the potatoes are all fried. I place them on the bottom of the baking dish, place the chicken on top. I add the lemon juice, garlic, olive oil and some broth from the chicken to the dish. Along with the salt & pepper, I do add the 7 spice to it and then broil for about 5 minutes. It's so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Remember to use yellow potatoes, other varieties do not work as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I'm surprised more people didn't emphasize how important it is to marinate this dish. I seasoned with salt, white pepper, cumin and all spice and I let it sit for a couple minutes before cooking. Next time I'll marinate with the lemon juice and olive for more flavor. I used chicken legs and the chicken was tender and juicy, but cooked a lot faster than the instructions stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I've made this many times and it's always good. My favorite variation is to use half sweet potatoes and half white potatoes. Warning: bone-in chicken comes out moist and delicious, boneless breasts come out dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I've made this dish a couple times now and it's definitely one of our favorites. We love the tangy flavor of the chicken & potatoes, but 1 whole cup of lemon juice is way too much for our taste. I now only use 1/2 cup. I've made this using either fresh lemon or 100% juice from concentrate and it has turned out great both times. The recipe is tasty as-is, but this last time I made it I also added 1/4 tsp oregano & 1/4 tsp thyme to the seasonings and we really loved the additional flavor. This is a keeper & a repeater in our house. Thank you for the great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
That sure was easy to prepare alright! Baked it longer than required because my husband loves his chicken very well done. Could have used more garlic and salt but I say that with most recipes. Loved it thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Delicious! I added a bit of cumin and thyme, and doubled the garlic. It was great with steamed green beans - we'll be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SparkletheXWoman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
It would have been netter with more seasonings. It needed more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Chicken Shawarma

See how to make a truly flavorful chicken sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States