Lebanese Chicken and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I did not have bone-in chicken or all-spice. I cut the boneless breast in to 3/4" chunks and the potatoes (Russets) the same size. I ground some cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger (about 1 tsp) and used 1 tsp of cumin. I also added some lemon zest with the juice. I did have so good olive oil. I was afraid of the baking time drying out the chicken, so I put it on a heavy grill pan and cooked it at 400 degrees on the outdoor grill. I had to turn the potatoes and chicken to get it to brown nicely on all sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I thought this was too lemony but the rest of my family did not. I will still cut back on the lemon next time but still overall very good. I used boneless, skinless thighs and they did not turn out dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Very easy to make. Had a very nice taste. My husband really enjoyed it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
We loved it! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ray, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Excellent! and so easy, too! I cook once every week or so, when my wife needs to work late. She usually leaves instructions for me, but occasionally I'm in charge of planning the meal. Tonight was such a night. So, given the instructions of 'do something with chicken and potatoes', I searched online and quickly found this recipe. It sounded simple enough. (Thanks to my wife for having the necessary ingredients on hand.) After reading a few of the helpful reviews from others, I decided to alter the recipe a little and start cooking. End result: my wife was AMAZED. This definitely will be a repeat recipe if she has anything to say about it, and I'm more than willing to accommodate. Alteration: after reading that boneless chicken breast might come out too dry with this recipe, I decided to follow someone else's example of frying the potatoes and boiling the chicken separately before combining them in the oven to brown. Also, I used cilantro, black pepper instead of white, and Old Bay Lemon & Herb seasoning. Works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was good! After it was in the oven, I remembered that I didn't like lemon chicken the last time I had it; but somehow this was better. It may have been the white pepper, the olive oil, or a change in my taste buds. The simplicity of this casserole cannot be beat! My pastor and his wife liked it, too. I couldn't give it five stars, though--my sister said it had too much lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Very good base recipe. I halved the amount of lemon juice and added cumin, oregano, and allspice as suggested by other reviewers. I skinned the chicken but it was still a bit oily for us so I would cut down on the olive oil next time. I also added large chunks of zucchini and onions to make it more of a one pot meal. Instead of using foil I just used a dish with a glass cover. Very simple to make. I prepped everything in the morning but mixed half the liquid with the veggies and the other half on top and the potatoes didn't brown at all while marinating in the fridge. I will definitely try this again using whatever veggies I have on hand. Carrots or broccoli would be good too, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I gave this 3 stars because the flavors were really not there. I like this as a base but will tweak next time by throwing in some oregano, garilc salt, cumin, and whatever else I find in my pantry! Overall, was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julnlisha is a cook!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roselle, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Springfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was simply divine. I made this for my son and his girlfriend and they loved it as we do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GorbezTheOgre

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
So much oil I was sick until the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Chicken Shawarma

See how to make a truly flavorful chicken sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States