Lebanese Chicken and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was pretty good. I must admit. I changed things up a bit (I know!).... I want to first begin by saying that the most helpful reviews aren't always "helpful." Having said that, I wish I would have stuck to the submitter's recipe as intended. I let the better half of me change a recipe that really didn't need tinkering with. I decided to add a couple t of 7 spice, but wish I wouldn't have. I couldn't find this spice at the grocery store, so I made my own (Arabic 7 spice on Food.com - 1 T ea. ground black pepper, paprika & cumin; 1/2 T ea. ground corrainder & cloves; 1/2 t ea. ground nutmeg & cinnamon; & 1/4 t ground cardamon). B/c I was only cooking for my fiance and myself, I purchased a pkg. of 5 drumsticks (on sale). I couldn't purchase any potatoes in bulk, so I opted for a bag of small ones (Yukon Golds) and just used 6 total instead of 4 (original recipe called for 8, but remember, I scaled to half that). I used the amount of lemon juice / EVOO called for (for 4 servings). My only other change was to use the full amount of crushed garlic as directed and roasted garlic EVOO instead of plain EVOO. NOTE: There is no need to fry your potatoes first. This adds an unnecessary step, IMHO. If you follow guyworldwide's cooking directions, your potatoes / meat will roast nicely. Served w/ steamed cauliflower and garlic naan, this was a decent meal. My fiance and I want to try this as is next time (my fiance didn't like my mods at all). Thanks for sharing, guyworldwide! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by Lil Mermaid
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I followed someone's advice to lightly fry the potatoes prior to baking. Then I added a dash of cumin and rosemary to the lemon sauce. Turned out tangy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Amazingly tasty. I served with garlic sauce(for the potatoes) and a big salad. Yummy! Made it a dozen times already. Used only juice of 1 lemon,cause kids thought it was too sour the 1st time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marieke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This was so yummy! Totally love that it is easy yet full of wonderful flavour! Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
The method used to cook the chicken is great! The meat came out moist and the skin crispy and flavorful. I agree with another review that said it was a bit sour. I added the full cup of lemon juice but next time I think half will be enough, the potatoes ended up a bit on the sour side because they really soaked up the juices. I also think this could be spiced up a bit, maybe some fresh parsley on top?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
luv it.... Tasty, versitle, easy, & on hand....whats not to love =) will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FERBONIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight and we thought it was just ok. It was definitely lacking in flavor - even though I heavily seasoned the chicken breasts with salt, pepper and allspice. The end result wasn't terrible, but it just wasn't very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
We LOVED this! I opted to season the chicken (I used thighs, that I removed the skin from) also with oregano and a little rosemary. I did cut the oil in 1/2 to make it healthier and just used the juice of 2 VERY juicy lemons and that was perfect for us. I also didn't cover this at all while baking, because I wanted it to roast. I will definately be making this again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Awesome recipe. I used drumsticks, and I used the juice of 3 lemons, so not quite full cup- closer to a half. I also tucked in 4 roma tomatoes and 4 anaheim peppers into the baking dish so I could have a one dish meal. Man it was sooooo good. THe sauce this recipe makes is really good. I had to keep going back for more bread to sop it all up. THe only thing I will do differently next time is to turn on the broiler during the last few minutes to get my chickn browner. THis is a kepper though, totally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
i made it and came out too sour..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weng

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Chicken Shawarma

See how to make a truly flavorful chicken sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States