Lebanese Baked Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This was awesome, though I also customized it quite a bit with red onion, garlic, cinnamon, allspice, brown sugar, coriander, etc. After half and hour I topped it with crumbled feta and fresh parsley, baked for another 25 minutes, then put it under the broiler for 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GailandDan
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Delicious! Will definetly have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GailandDan
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Excellent! Made it just as the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I really loved this easy recipe. I did cover for first hour, then cooked and additional 1/2hour so potatoes were cooked thoroughly. I was also heavy handed with the garlic. I didn't have any flatbread, so I baked some lightly oiled tortillas as a substitute (the oven was already on--so why not), and that worked out perfect. My 5 year old asked me to keep it in her special folder so she could make it for her kids some day:) Very kid friendly, healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Really delicious! I added some feta cheese and made up my own "lebanese" spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, etc), but it all turned out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
5 Stars reflect how delicious and easy this was to prepare. However, needs adjusting for my oven. I plan to cube eggplant next time to make sure it is covered by liquid - the top layer didn't completely cook. Might need to be covered during cooking to conserve moisture. I baked this in a new convection oven so don't know whether this played a role in the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This was very good and different. Even my husband liked it. I did add some garlic and extra spices. Next time , I will add a extra can of tomatoes and I'll cover it w/foil. It took forever to cook uncovered and the top was a little dry. I will make it again, with those suggestions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This is an easy and delicious recipe. We ate the leftovers for a few days, and I have to say that it was even better after being reheated! I agree with some of the other reviewers that it could have more flavor. But it wasn't bad- next time I'll play with some more herbs and spices. I left out the walnuts because I wanted to serve it to my one-year old daughter without worrying about choking. She loved it! This was her first time having eggplant, and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Langton Ellingston

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Great dish, I used home made sauce instead of crushed tomatoes (as my boyfriend prefers) and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Great recipe, the only reason I gave it four stars was because I felt it needed more spices. I added two cloves of garlic to the onions, and added some red pepper flakes into that part. I then mixed together paprika, cumin, coriander, black pepper and cinnamon and threw that into the meat mixture. I do not eat red meat, so I used the soy version. Also, I peeled the eggplant. I will definitely make this again, very simple, and a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Eggplant Lasagna

Layers of breaded roasted eggplant with ground beef, tomato sauce, and cheese.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States