Lebanese Baked Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
My Lebanese mother made this but used pine nuts instead of walnuts and used potatoes only when it was made as a stew in a pot (not baked). Also, peel the eggplant before slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Delicious! I used 1 can crushed tomatoes, 1 can stewed. I also used halal veal chunks (ribs, roast, etc) and baby eggplant (sliced). So good! The only suggestion is it needs more flavor, so I threw in a few whole cloves of garlic. This made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This was very good and different. Even my husband liked it. I did add some garlic and extra spices. Next time , I will add a extra can of tomatoes and I'll cover it w/foil. It took forever to cook uncovered and the top was a little dry. I will make it again, with those suggestions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I really loved this easy recipe. I did cover for first hour, then cooked and additional 1/2hour so potatoes were cooked thoroughly. I was also heavy handed with the garlic. I didn't have any flatbread, so I baked some lightly oiled tortillas as a substitute (the oven was already on--so why not), and that worked out perfect. My 5 year old asked me to keep it in her special folder so she could make it for her kids some day:) Very kid friendly, healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GailandDan
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Delicious! Will definetly have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GailandDan
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This was awesome, though I also customized it quite a bit with red onion, garlic, cinnamon, allspice, brown sugar, coriander, etc. After half and hour I topped it with crumbled feta and fresh parsley, baked for another 25 minutes, then put it under the broiler for 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I'm giving this a 3 because it can be made into something good, but as is..not so good. First of all the time off. It takes longer to get stew meat and the potates cooked. Second, needs so much more flavor. After our first dish, I add it to a pot, simmered it and made more like a stew out of it. Added red pepper flaks, garlic and onion powder,coriander, and bay leaf. I add just a bit of broth, becasue I had so much liquid left over. Much better, but I'm not sure I would make it again. Though, I have to say the walnuts were a very nice touch. I think that was my favorite part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Great dish, I used home made sauce instead of crushed tomatoes (as my boyfriend prefers) and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Really delicious! I added some feta cheese and made up my own "lebanese" spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, etc), but it all turned out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This is an easy and delicious recipe. We ate the leftovers for a few days, and I have to say that it was even better after being reheated! I agree with some of the other reviewers that it could have more flavor. But it wasn't bad- next time I'll play with some more herbs and spices. I left out the walnuts because I wanted to serve it to my one-year old daughter without worrying about choking. She loved it! This was her first time having eggplant, and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States