Lebanese Baked Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
5 Stars reflect how delicious and easy this was to prepare. However, needs adjusting for my oven. I plan to cube eggplant next time to make sure it is covered by liquid - the top layer didn't completely cook. Might need to be covered during cooking to conserve moisture. I baked this in a new convection oven so don't know whether this played a role in the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
My Lebanese mother in law taught me this recipe. And as a casserole the eggplant should be peeled and sliced into 1/4 inch slices and rolled in egg and a 50/50 ratio of flour and cornmeal and browned then set aside. Then take pine nuts and onion and brown those in butter or olive oil (the oil is healthier) until done and then use lean ground beef or ground sirloin and brown mixed with salt, pepper, garlic and all spice to taste. Layer as instructed only use tomato sauce and bake at 350 for 35-40 minutes covered and serve over rice/vermicelli along with some warm bread....you will enjoy it thouroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Great recipe, the only reason I gave it four stars was because I felt it needed more spices. I added two cloves of garlic to the onions, and added some red pepper flakes into that part. I then mixed together paprika, cumin, coriander, black pepper and cinnamon and threw that into the meat mixture. I do not eat red meat, so I used the soy version. Also, I peeled the eggplant. I will definitely make this again, very simple, and a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This was awesome, though I also customized it quite a bit with red onion, garlic, cinnamon, allspice, brown sugar, coriander, etc. After half and hour I topped it with crumbled feta and fresh parsley, baked for another 25 minutes, then put it under the broiler for 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Great dish, I used home made sauce instead of crushed tomatoes (as my boyfriend prefers) and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Really delicious! I added some feta cheese and made up my own "lebanese" spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, etc), but it all turned out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This is an easy and delicious recipe. We ate the leftovers for a few days, and I have to say that it was even better after being reheated! I agree with some of the other reviewers that it could have more flavor. But it wasn't bad- next time I'll play with some more herbs and spices. I left out the walnuts because I wanted to serve it to my one-year old daughter without worrying about choking. She loved it! This was her first time having eggplant, and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I thought this sounded exotic, but it was very flat in taste. I wish I had added the garlic as did other reviewers. I don't know what spices are used in traditional Lebanese cooking, but this dish needed more punch. Anyone know? The walnuts were nice, but not enough to carry the dish in flavor. Also, it took forever to get tender--more like 2 1/2 hours for me. Maybe the acid from the tomatoes slows down the softening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I'm giving this a 3 because it can be made into something good, but as is..not so good. First of all the time off. It takes longer to get stew meat and the potates cooked. Second, needs so much more flavor. After our first dish, I add it to a pot, simmered it and made more like a stew out of it. Added red pepper flaks, garlic and onion powder,coriander, and bay leaf. I add just a bit of broth, becasue I had so much liquid left over. Much better, but I'm not sure I would make it again. Though, I have to say the walnuts were a very nice touch. I think that was my favorite part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I really loved this easy recipe. I did cover for first hour, then cooked and additional 1/2hour so potatoes were cooked thoroughly. I was also heavy handed with the garlic. I didn't have any flatbread, so I baked some lightly oiled tortillas as a substitute (the oven was already on--so why not), and that worked out perfect. My 5 year old asked me to keep it in her special folder so she could make it for her kids some day:) Very kid friendly, healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States