Le Marriage, Alfredo Algerie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Although this recipe has enough calories to feed a small village for a week, it was delectable!!!! I used another half of chicken breast for more 'substance'and added a bit more saffron and sprikled fresh parsley on top for a bit more flavoring. Next time I would use a little less butter. Next time we want a great 'resturant' meal, we'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
The flavor of this is wonderful. I even had all the ingredients available (due to a prior investment in the costly saffron threads!) This dish is tasty as long as you can overlook an obscene amount of fat. You can feel your arteries clogging as you consume it, so I would have to call this an occasional, or perhaps rare, treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
This was one of the best recipies I have ever made. My husband thought it tasted like a "dairy farm" but agreed that it was exceptional. And yes, it is extremely fattening (although this really does end up being more than 4 servings). A few things: I don't undertand why it says to cook the chicken for 30 mins...I think the adding watert and cooking the chicken step can me totally omitted(this recipe does not take nearly as long as it says). The cream cheese and butter don't blend well, I was worried I had done something wrong, but adding the cream completely remedied the problem. Also, more chicken is definitely neccesary to give more substance. I might try lamb next time. A decadent meal...but certainly worth the (very rare) treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Wonderful, a dish we'll make once and a while due to fat content. Yummy.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This was amazing! I just couldn't bring myself to add 1/2 cup of butter though, so I only added 1/4 cup. I also couldn't bring myself to add 1 1/2 cups of cream. Instead, I used 1/2 cup of cream and 1/2 cup of whole milk. As a last-minute decision, I steamed some broccoli, chopped it and added it in as well. The outcome was fabulous! Definitely a five star dish. The garlic, white pepper and cayenne was especially nice on the chicken. Believe it or not, it gets away with five cloves of garlic and tastes just right. Hubby couldn't believe it when I told him there were five cloves in it. Alright, I think I better go do some stomach crunches now. (yeah, right.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANOLACOWGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I've made this twice now, and oh wow...YUM! The first time I made it, I was out of saffron, and last night, I was out of Parmesan, lol. It was still out of this world though. Like another poster mentioned--I didn't use quite as much butter, and I also added a third chicken breast half for more substance. Definitely a keeper, although probably only make it once or twice per year. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maurertown, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
My husband and kids always tells me if they like the food or not. My Husband said to keep this recipe so it was good. will make again. Oh I added broccoli to the recipe and it still was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Fantastic recipe!!!! Everyone at my dinner party loved it and wanted the recipe!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Excellent taste, but OH MY GOSH THE FAT!!! I used Skim Milk instead of cream and thickened slightly with cornstarch. Didn't miss the cream but I'm sure if you used it, it would knock the socks (and belts) off of company. This makes a pile of sauce so I added some cut up cooked brocolli, mushrooms and red bell peppers. Wonderful special occasion dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
After reading all the reviews, I made the following revisions: 3 chicken breast halves, 1/4 c butter, light cream cheese, 1 c fat free half and half and a half cup evaporated milk, and Kraft parmesan cheese. Even with all the modifications, this was still very good. After dousing this with pepper at the table, I realized I couldn't taste the saffron so I would avoid adding additional pepper. I served this over vegetable pasta to mitigate the unhealthyness of the sauce. If I made this again, I would cut back on the cream cheese and possibly add some extra half and half or milk to make this sauce a little thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States