Lazygirl's Ground Turkey Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Yum! This is how I changed it. Browned a lb of ground turkey, drained and set aside. Cooked a medium onion and a few cloves of garlic in some olive oil, then added the turkey back to the skillet. Added a can of cream of chicken soup, a few splashes of chicken broth to thin to the consistency I like, about a half a cup of sour cream. I also added a can of peas and a few generous shakes of paprika and cayenne pepper. Turned out wonderful and very thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
310 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: La Vergne, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This was a pretty good base recipe. With my additiond it was a 5. I think that it would be a bit bland if made as stated. I added a whole onion diced fine, 2 cloves of garlic, 8 oz sliced mushrooms, I used water instead of milk and added sour cream at the end. Oh, I also added peas for color and nutrition. This was quite tasty and quick. My son ate his with ketchup! Two servings, whatever works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
With a few modifications, this was great! I used 1 can of chicken broth insted of the water. I also added 1 clove of fresh garlic with the onion and the meat. I also added a dash of cayenne pepper and some garlic salt to spice it up s bit. During the last minute of cooking, I added about 2 Tbs. of sour cream. It was wonderful and very quick & easy! I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSHKARENWOLFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This recipe tasted really good, but like many others, I altered the recipe. I sauteed 1/4 onion with one clove of garlic in some EVOO. I transferred it to another dish and cooked up the ground turkey. After that was cooked I added back the onion and garlic, then used a 1/2 can of cream of chicken soup, 3/4 cup of light sour cream, and a splash or two of salt free chicken broth. Once mixed in I added sliced mushrooms and peas. I didn't need to add any salt, but my husband did add cracked pepper to his serving. We also used egg noodles. For the amount of turkey we had, it only made 3 good size servings. I typically don't have sour cream around, so this is a meal I will have to prepare for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This was a good start, but I read through all the other reviews and added a lot of what others did and it came out great. I used chicken broth, and I added some merlot and sour cream until it tasted just right. I also added some fresh garlic while I cooked the ground turkey and I think that really helped to season the meat. After all the adjustments, it was awesome and even my husband said that he liked it way better than any hamgurger helper...(ha ha).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I thought this was a great basic recipe. I omitted the water and the onion flakes. Instead, I slivered one small white onion and one clove garlic, then sauteed the turkey with that. I also added about 2 tbsps. dried parsley flakesfor flavor and color, and one can of sliced mushrooms, drained, then salted with a bit of garlic salt. At the end, I added one cup sour cream, which you really need to do if you want this to taste anything like stroganoff and not just ground turkey gravy. I did like how it turned out, served it over wide egg noodles, and will be making it again. Thanks for the idea! SUPER easy to pull together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I followed recipe exactly as stated (but did add peas for color). My family was very happy with how it turned out (all had seconds!) and I loved that it was quick, easy and fairly healthy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This was pretty good for a quick meal. I substituted Cream of Chicken soup, milk, added mushrooms, tomatoes, a clove of garlic, 1 onion, thyme, rosemary, hungarian hot paprika, 1/4 cup of sherry, 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup parmesean cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I made this recipe, but changed a few things. I added a little butter,it made it taste richer, fat free half and half, instead of water,a half a container of fat free sour cream, then for even more flavor, I added a little sage and a pinch of thyme. It turned out wonderfully. Nice for a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This recipe was very good. i did do a few minor adjustments. I added extra onions and a clove of garlic to the meat mixture. And used a can of roasted garlic and cream of mushroom soup. My husband and I enjoyed this. And I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

How to Prep a Turkey

See how to thaw, brine, and roast a super-moist Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States