Lazy Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Pretty good. Took a long time to make. I think I was in the kitchen cooking/assembling for between 45min to an hour. I think I would have liked a different top layer under the bacon/onion mixture other than just a noodle layer, but wasn't sure what, so I didn't change it. If I make it again will definitely need time. No one here seemed to eat the leftovers (and there was a lot), even though they liked the casserole. I liked mine with sour cream on the side to dip each forkful into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I thought these were okay, a little bland, but okay. My husband wasn't fussy at all. In fact, he wondered why I even bothered, as the frozen-in-a-bag variety have more flavour. I'm giving it three stars because I think the idea is creative and that there is something to be had here, I'm just not sure what can be done to improve this recipe, but perhaps someone else can build it on to make it something a little more flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Made for my crew at work, they are perogy crazy. They loves this. I used the fresh made sheet lasagna. and did one layer with cottage cheese and cheesy mashed potatoes, another layer with cheesy mashed potatoes, fried sausage and onions and the top layer with reamaining potatoes, baked for just over an hour. Put grated cheese mixed with chopped bacon and chopped green onions. Placed on top after it came out and covered until cheese melted, served with sour cream and a salad..They were in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Awesome! I agree...the name does not suit it. How about Pierogi Casserole?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I substituted some chopped cabbage for the bacon to make it vegetarian and it was delicious. Would also be great with bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pilot Grove, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This was very good! I used the entire box of lasagna noodles. A word of warning, however...although I have never made "real" pierogies, and I'm sure it's time consuming, this recipe is not quick and easy as "lazy" in the title would have you believe. It took me quite a while to assemble the ingredients...I would say well over an hour...and maybe closer to two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
made this with home made noodle dough (flour, 3 eggs and 1/2 tsp salt) rolled thin and left in 4x6" pieces. Absolutely delicious and a perfect dish for a church potluck! Also I used cooked, diced back bacon in the potatoes and bacon in the cottage cheese layer just to add variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nanton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
So delicious and totally possible to make a healthier version...I used non-fat cottage cheese, skim milk in the mashed potatoes and turkey bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACAMRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I wouldn't dare attempt traditional pierogies, but this is the perfect substitute. NOT healthy, but oh so good. My husband (who grew up on polish food) loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is a great way to have an entire perogie casserole....great taste with all the flavours of perogies and easy to warm up as leftovers. I added a layer of steamed finely-chopped cabbage. I substituted ricotta for the cottage cheese and omitted the onion salt. This would be a great pot luck contribution....lots of flavour but fussy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States