Lazy Man's Pierogi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This dish is very popular in Buffalo, where I live-especially during football season, and I make it often. The only issues I have with this recipe are: 1. that it presumably uses the drippings from a half pound of bacon in which to fry the onions. Seems like a lot of grease to me. I just leave a tablespoon or so in the pan. 2. I double the amount of mushrooms. They cook way down and add a lot of flavor and texture. 3. I drain and squeeze the sauerkraut dry, but do not rinse it. Rinsing makes a much blander dish. It's just as easy to double the recipe, considering all the prep and dirty pans, and makes great leftoivers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2001
This was different and easy. A great way to use up bacon. I did add two large chopped garlic cloves in with the onion and fat free soup. My husband loved it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I have made this recipe several times now and it is always delicious. I use the whole pound of bacon and use canned mushrooms instead of the fresh and it turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This was great. I used chopped kielbasa instead of bacon, and threw some buttered bread crumbs on the top before baking. (The mixture looked a little dry and I didn't want it to dry out in the oven.) It came out very well; not too saucy, not too dry, and with excellent flavors. This would be great to take to an autumn or winter potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
This was really very good. I was a little sceptical but pleasantly surprised. We did not change a thing. Thanks. This will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Very good stuff. My mom has a similar recipe that calls for crumbled italian sausage...I might try that next time. My boyfriend, who HATES sauerkraut liked this well enough that he gave me permission to make this one again. Not a fancy dish but it is filling and tasty. Thanks Joanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Do not rinse the sauerkraut, only drain it! You are washing away the flavor!!Otherwise I make this exactly the same way! wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Bancroft Ziegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
This was very good. However, I had to make a change. I only had cr of mushroom w/roasted garlic in the house, so I used that. I think I would have been happier using just the regular. Other than that, I added some keilbasa as someone else suggested. The whole family liked it, so I guess it's a keeper! Thanks for a different but delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
Quick, easy, tasty, healthy. Excellent for 'people who don't cook'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This was an awesome recipe! I followed it exactly, except I put in a little less kraut. Make sure to drain ALL the juice from the kraut or it gets a bit sloppy. I made it for supper and the whole pan was gone before the night was over. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Onawa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States