Lazy Man's Pierogi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
OMG! This was so good. My boys came back for 3rds. I thought the sourkrout was going to turn them off but they loved it. I used ground beef and keilbasa instead of the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
My mother in law used to make this all the time and we loved it. I'm glad I was able to find a very comperable recipe to hers. My family loves this! It is definitely not original perogie, but is still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Loved it! As the title says, this recipe is fast, easy, and still has some great pierogi-style flavors to it. Perfect for those days when you have a craving but not the time or energy (or certain ingredients!) for making everything from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
The taste was not so great, but the texture was oddly addicting. Probably will not try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This dish is very popular in Buffalo, where I live-especially during football season, and I make it often. The only issues I have with this recipe are: 1. that it presumably uses the drippings from a half pound of bacon in which to fry the onions. Seems like a lot of grease to me. I just leave a tablespoon or so in the pan. 2. I double the amount of mushrooms. They cook way down and add a lot of flavor and texture. 3. I drain and squeeze the sauerkraut dry, but do not rinse it. Rinsing makes a much blander dish. It's just as easy to double the recipe, considering all the prep and dirty pans, and makes great leftoivers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very good recipe, definitely different...I added Panko bread crumbs, used whole wheat rotelle and actually less bacon (and used turkey bacon) to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
i'm so happy to have found a recipe for one of my favorite dishes! just a couple thoughts: -didn't add bacon because i'm a vegetarian. might try fake bacon next time. -used 12 oz of egg noodles (instead of 16) -it was a bit dry, even with 2 cans of soup - next time i might add another can -i've always had lazy pierogi with farmer's cheese. will definitely add some next time. this is definitely a recipe i will be using again and a gain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
So good! I'm just getting into cooking for my fiance and this recipe was delicious! I didn't change anything the first time but will probably use fat free soup and wheat pasta the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Went over well with the group of guys who replaced the roof over the barn bridge! Served with burgers and ice cold beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayne

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Do not rinse the sauerkraut, only drain it! You are washing away the flavor!!Otherwise I make this exactly the same way! wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States