Lazy Man's Pierogi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I make this each year for christmas! It is a great recipe and such a time saver over making traditional pierogi. I always get compliments on this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This was an awesome recipe! I followed it exactly, except I put in a little less kraut. Make sure to drain ALL the juice from the kraut or it gets a bit sloppy. I made it for supper and the whole pan was gone before the night was over. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Onawa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This is an amazing dish...I do however make a few alterations. I use sea shell pasta vs. the rotini, and I cook the onion in a half stick of butter, then add the bacon. (I used turkey bacon and it tasted delicious). I also added the sauerkraut straight out of the jar, juices and all...it adds so much more flavor to the dish! I added about 2 teaspoons of Worchershire sauce and omitted the mushrooms completely. I love mushrooms, but I don't feel they belong in this dish, the few that are in the soup are sufficient enough for me. Lastly I added an envelope of Lipton onion soup mix...really takes it over the top!! I found that because of the thickness of all the ingredients combined, I DID have to add a splash or two of milk to give it room to groove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I used less pasta and more fried mushrooms and sauerkraut. I rinsed the sauerkraut too much and there was not much flavor. Next time I will use garlic sausage instead of bacon and I will just slightly rinse the sauerkraut. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
OMG! This was so good. My boys came back for 3rds. I thought the sourkrout was going to turn them off but they loved it. I used ground beef and keilbasa instead of the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
My mother in law used to make this all the time and we loved it. I'm glad I was able to find a very comperable recipe to hers. My family loves this! It is definitely not original perogie, but is still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Loved it! As the title says, this recipe is fast, easy, and still has some great pierogi-style flavors to it. Perfect for those days when you have a craving but not the time or energy (or certain ingredients!) for making everything from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
The taste was not so great, but the texture was oddly addicting. Probably will not try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This dish is very popular in Buffalo, where I live-especially during football season, and I make it often. The only issues I have with this recipe are: 1. that it presumably uses the drippings from a half pound of bacon in which to fry the onions. Seems like a lot of grease to me. I just leave a tablespoon or so in the pan. 2. I double the amount of mushrooms. They cook way down and add a lot of flavor and texture. 3. I drain and squeeze the sauerkraut dry, but do not rinse it. Rinsing makes a much blander dish. It's just as easy to double the recipe, considering all the prep and dirty pans, and makes great leftoivers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very good recipe, definitely different...I added Panko bread crumbs, used whole wheat rotelle and actually less bacon (and used turkey bacon) to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States