Lazy Man's Pierogi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
super great. I subbed the soup for a from scratch version found here http://centercutcook.com/cream-soup-substitute/ . also i wasn't sure if it should be covered while baking? I left it uncovered. Is that right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
LOL...Ha! I havent had this in years! My mom used to make this every New Years Day! Im so excited to know I can finally make this again! My only changes are I only drain my sauerkraut I did not rinse it! Very very good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Crack cassarole. Let's just call it what it is. This stuff looks like , but tastes like heaven. I did a few alterations, to add more flavour: - used a 1lb of FRESH button mushrooms (don't use canned - yuck!) - don't strain the sauerkraut. Keep that extra marinate flavor and add it all in. - sautéed the mushrooms and onions in the bacon fat (didn't use the recommended butter extra step; waste of a pain and why add a new fat?) - used a full 1lb of bacon. YUM. This is a new fav of mine. Definitely easy and can be modified with lower fat options (ie. remove bacon fat, low/no fat mushroom soup, ect)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dobermanmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I'm from WNY, too, as others have noted. As a FYI, Lazy Pierogi are not pierogi. They are a whole other dish. A quite popular staple at just about every Polish event you go to. And the variations noted in these reviews are typical variations depending on whose Mom gave you the recipe. We use a version with kielbasa, 1/4 # bacon, undrained sauerkraut, touch of Worchestershire and garlic--in addition to what's noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
this was wonderful.. i was pleasantly surprised at the cream of mushroom soup.. i made this so bf could have a few meals to take to work and i can't have any as i'm lactose intolerant.. i cut the recipe in half.. used 7 oz of smoked sausage.. used more like 3/4 of an onion.. didn't rinse or drain the sauerkraut.. didn't add the mushrooms.. added a bit of leftover zucchini from another recipe.. it really didn't need any extra salt or pepper.. i'm sure bf is going to love this.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I grew up in Buffalo, and my mother made this very often ! Love love Love this quirky dish ! The only difference is that she used a whole pound of bacon, and saved the grease to pour over the dish, skipping the soup ( eeew )and added garlic powder ....it was made on top of the stove, no baking required! Its a heart attack in the making....but sooooo good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This is really different,but good.I served it with kielbasa and everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
My grandmother made this dish except hers had a few changes....she used egg noodles, no butter (plenty of "grease" and flavor in the bacon drippings), and she didn't bake it (definitely saves on time)...also added garlic powder for additional flavor. I've made twice...the first time I rinsed the sauerkraut...definitely better not rinsing...couldn't believe the difference in flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Cichocki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I live in WNY where this is a popular dish. I found this recipe to be bland, even with not draining the sauerkraut. This recipe is missing farmer's cheese, celery seed and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I make this each year for christmas! It is a great recipe and such a time saver over making traditional pierogi. I always get compliments on this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States