Lazy Golumbkis Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
I made this in the oven since the electricity here isn't reliable enough to cook in a crockpot. I added a tsp of cinnamon to the tomato sauce and baked it covered at 350 degrees for an hour. It came out perfect -- good flavor, not overcooked or undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
This wasn't at all what I expected it to be. Bland and mushy with rice that was crunchy. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
I put everything in the crock pot this morning, stirred it and left it til my son got home eight hours later. He stirred it and turned it off. It tasted okay, but the texture of the rice and cabbage was too mushy. I think it would have been better if I was able to add the rice and cabbage later in the day so it would not have over cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
The reason I give it a 4 is because my small children really liked it. Also, my friend's extremely picky 1-year-old really liked it too. I thought it tasted OK, but didn't look like it would be good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
I have made regular golumbkis for years and found this recipe so much easier. I had no trouble with the rice, as other people said they did. I also added a few cloves (6-8), which gives it a spicer flavor, and made it taste like my mother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
Tasted a bit like cabbage rolls but missing something flavor wise. We did as others recommended - used minute rice and added it with 2 hrs to go before mealtime, and the rice turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
Contrary to another review, my rice would not cook. Next time I'll use instant, or cook it alone and add it at the end. Other than that, my husband and I loved it (it was really good with corn bread). (Ignore my "kid friendly rating", my children don't eat ANYTHING).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
Easy to make, but it was so nasty that my garbage disposal husband (nor I) would eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
This was very quick and easy to put together. I would make it again if I were craving cabbage rolls and didn't want to fuss over the real thing. Tthe rice got very mushy. I would probably add it later on next time. My husband like it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-59 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States