Lazy Dazy Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
The batter was awesome! I almost burnt the house down broiling the topping though (the cake pan got stuck in the broiler and I had to shut it off and yank the whole broiler shelf out), so keep an eye on it. The topping on my cake was crispy and chewy....I'm not sure if that's how it's supposed to be but it was still surprisingly really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
incredibly good! I made it in two 8-inch rounds -- looks nicer than a flat cake. Cooked for just over 20 minutes. Watch it at the stage where you put it under the broiler, and turn it around so it colors evenly, if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
Oh my gosh! This cake is totally AWESOME!!! I made this just for fun but it turned out sooo yummy...great topping! My boyfriend loved it! You should definately try this recipe. If you are reading this, then good for you because its always smart to read reviews before baking anything. I'm glad i did. Remember: DO NOT bake this cake for more than 20-25 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
I cut this recipe in half and made it in an 8 inch round pan, the cake itself baked very well, but it tasted very eggy, and there was no vanilla in this so called "vanilla sponge cake". Next time I will definitely try adding some vanilla and maybe not so much eggs. I give it a 4 because the people I made it for liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
Delicious, I didn't make the topping, i needed an easy quick sponge cake and this was it! I frosted my cake with cream cheese icing and added whipped topping to the top and put sliced strawberries on top with a handful of blueberries. Turned out awesome. My cake baked 35 minutes (thanks for the tip in earlier reviews). I'll make this cake again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynseey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
YES! Make sure that you do not try to bake this for an hour. Just like someone else said, "about 20 minutes". This cake has a fantastic taste. I didn't even use coconut. I think the next time that I make it I will punch holes in the top of the cake and then pour the icing on it. The icing makes the cake to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
I made this cake and at 29 minutes in the oven it was burnt. I think that the hour for cooking time is a typo. I remade it and cooked it for 20 minutes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
Made it for my husbands birthday, and it was very yummy! Most sucessful cake I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Norfolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
My original review is years old, and I wanted to point out that I've made this numerous times over the past few years and this is really a no-fail recipe! Easy, simple and tasty! This cake was great.. it was moist and fluffy, and the topping added some great texture and flavour. Don't skimp on the topping - I feel like this is what keeps it moist afterwards (it is still moist a week later). I'll definitely be making this again. Be careful with the baking time.. don't go past 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
I haven't had much success in baking cakes, but this recipe worked amazingly for me. The cake was tasty and light. I'll be making it a lot! I think i will try adding some lemon or orange zest to it next time. Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States