Lazy Dazy Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
I made half the recipe without the topping, and frosted with store-bought vanilla frosting. It was okay, but the texture was weird. It got really dry the next day. The cake turned out edible, but I think I'll stick with a more traditional sponge cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
Really nice cake. Cook only 28-30 minutes. I found when broiling the topping not to move the oven rack closer to the broiler. It browned better and didn't burn when I left the rack in the center of the oven where I cooked the cake. I just set the oven to broil. Would be good with your own frosting or fruit too. A keeper, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I don't know why, my cake was not soft at all!!! The taste was okay though. Sorry, will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I made this for my 21st, and since then I've made it over five times, everytime a success! Never failed! I didn't use the topping, however, for my 21st, I made it a strawberry cake by filling it with strawberry cream (cream + strawberry jam then whipped) and covered the cake with the rest of the strawberry cream, topped with seasonal fruit and more strawberries, everyone loved it! Also made this in place of ladyfinger for Tiramisu, perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CABNOLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
I added 1 1/2 tablespoons vanilla ex along w/ a half cup finely shredded coconut to the batter. I also did not use egg yolk and instead egg whites which worked otu great! I find yolk is usually unnecessary anyhow. The glaze needs work because as is it's super runny like water and has no substance or stickability. Needs to harden once cooled and it doesn't at all. The glaze also needed somethign extra flavor wise so I added a couple tablespoons of rum, 1 table spoon vanilla ex, and 2 teaspoons coconut ex. The cakes texture came out very well. It also only needed to be cooked a half hour so I'm glad I was payign attention and didn't follow the recipes time for a whole hour! Casue the cake would had been ruined. At a half hour the top had a perfect golden brown color and was firm and moist. Will make again, but will modify as I already have to make it a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
This was good and very easy to make. My husband loved it way more than I did, but he loves fresh goodies!! I didn't use the coconut since neither of us are big fans...as DH says "it gets stuck in my teeth" LOL Also the cake only needed 30 minutes in the oven, any longer and it would have been charcoal. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
I cut this recipe in half and made it in an 8 inch round pan, because my parents are consantly complaining about leftover cakes from a 9x13 inch pan. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla extract and it turned out great. I goofed on the topping, i forgot to put the topping on top of the cake and put it BACK into the oven. I did not like the topping that much, it was much too sweet. Next time I'm going to replace the topping with cream cheese topping and make the cake into 2 8inch pans or an 9x5 inch pan. I will definitely make this cake again. Oh, by the way, like other reviewers said make sure you only bake your cake for 20min!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
I had to give this recipe 5 stars it was an excellent recipe. It took about 45 min to cook but the only problem I had was cooking the topping. I put it in the oven and it bubbled over in my oven, and I used a really big pan. But it tastes excellent. Can't wait for my family to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
I made this cake with the 1 tsp of vanilla and i poked holed in it before pouring the frosting on top..i didn't use the coconut...but it was still delicious!!! Its nice if you have a big cup of milk..and a slice of that cake! I will defenitly make this again!!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
Wow...what a great recipe. As suggested, I added a teaspoon of vanilla, and only baked the cake for 30 min at max. I used two 8" round pans lined with parchment paper, lightly greased and floured. After broiling, I let them cool and flipped the cakes out of the pans and made a two layer cake - very nice display! Tastes just like grandma used to make. I will use this recipe again. In fact, I think I'll use the batter recipe the next time I make pineapple upside-down cake. A real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States