Lazy Dazy Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is a delicious cake! However, I added a tablespoon of vanilla extract to the batter. I only used 3 large eggs and baked it in a bundt pan for 40 min. I also doubled the topping recipe and added 2 cups chopped pecans. Let it sit for a couple of hours with the topping and it didn't need to be broiled either. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This sponge cake recipe was just what I was after for shortcake shells, so I didn't use the topping. I reduced the serving size to six, which was just perfect for my 6-shortcake pan. I was satisfied with them, but would have liked them with a little more butter in the batter as well as some vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Very good recipe, it is one of my favorites! For those who have said its too eggy and dense, that is most likely because the milk was too hot when you put it in the batter and it partially cooked the egg. Again, mine took only 20 minutes in the oven. Enjoy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Overall a very good cake, and easy to put together. I noticed a reviewer mentioned eggy-ness so I cut back to three eggs (can't stand eggy-ness) and after tasting the batter I added 1/2 tsp. of vanilla extract for more flavor. I agree with others that the baking time is wayyy off; mine was done in 20 minutes. The cake itself is nice and spongy; nothing too dense. but that topping....Oh WOW that topping is amazing for this cake. I would absolutely make this again, but with the changes I mentioned above. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Perfect replica of my Aunt Minnie's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madras, Oregon, USA
Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
My family loved this! My brother didn't even know it wasn't store-bought! The brown sugar icing is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
If you add two teaspoons vanilla extract, increase the salt to 1/2 teaspoon, increase the butter by one more tablespoon, you'll have the perfect old fashioned Lazy Daisy Cake base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Made this cake minus the topping to use in a trifle. I added a teaspoonful of almond extract. I was very impressed by how much flavor the cake had. It can certainly stand alone as a snack cake. Next time, I will butter and flour the pan. It took 30 minutes in a 9x13 pan. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
yummy! 1 hour for glass pan 20 mins for metal pans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Natasha~

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
My mother made this, my favorite cake, regularly when I was a child but I had completely forgotten about it until I came across this recipe. It was delicious and my husband, who had never had it, LOVES it! I did add vanilla to the batter and bake it for a shorter time, but other than those changes, this recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States