Lazy Daisy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I make this all the time from a similar recipe (most have more topping than mine, so I may try increasing the amount I make) but the one major difference--and I think it may be a typo--is that I only use 1 teaspoon of baking powder, not a tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I am thinking there is an error in this recipe. All other sites I see this recipe and indeed the one passed down to me by my mother has 1 teaspoon not 1 tablespoon of baking powder. The one tablespoon seems a bit much for just one cup of flour. I make mine with 1 teaspoon and it works well! done with 1 tsp of BP I give it a 5. venisonfurs, this might be why your cake overflowed.. too much baking powder fran
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Overflowed my 8 inch cake pan in the oven and started a fire. I should have used 3 8-inch pans, but the recipe says 1 pan. Needs to be clearer because this cake is amazing, my grandmother used to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goddard, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
i'm over 50 and this is the VERY FIRST cake I ever made (I was 5) and it was with my Grandma Bessie in DeQueen Arkansas!!! i have two granddaughters that live with me, that love to cook and bake and I can't wait to make this with them very, very soon. I'm so happy to have found the recipe - THANK YOU!!! (I actually don't remember making it with coconut but I love coconut and Grandma was simple in her baking pleasures and very, very frugal (from the depression era, ya' know so I doubt she ever bought coconut! Fortunate, I love coconut and will certainly follow this recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This recipe is a keeper, the only thing I changed due to the fact I had no heavy cream, I used whipping cream instead. Cake is very moist and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This is a family favorite that my mother used to make and now I've been making for years. I usually make 1 1/2 recipes of this and bake it in a 9x13 pan. We also spread the frosting on the cake right out of the oven and then broil it till bubbly. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This recipe is FABULOUS and has been around for many, many, many years!!!...Actually, one of MY childhood favorites that I passed on to my own family! ~This cake also tastes Great iced with a white butter icing topped with crushed pecans....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I have been baking this cake for many years but instead of baking powder I use 1 tsp. baking soda. Also the icing should be heated for about 3 min. then poured over the cake as soon as it is finished baking, then return cake to oven for 5 minutes. It's a great treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States