Lazy Cabbage Roll Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Took this to a family dinner and it was a huge hit! I only made a few minor changes. I just a full can of tomato paste, I shredded the cabbage (I used about half a head), and used slightly less tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
My family didn't like this, they are use to the traditional cabbage rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
We enjoyed this. I used one large can of crushed tomatoes instead of sauce and paste. And I used half a head of regular cabbage. I par-boiled it in the microwave for about 10 minutes, before layering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This recipe was ok day I made it, fantastic the next days. It doesn't have nearly enough cabbage for me. I will just buy a head of regular and shred to make it easy. We like spicy and I had a hard time not adding, but the next day, it didn't need anything but salt. I did use already precooked rice (2 cups precooked rice = 1 cup instant) so I adjusted the liquid a bit, but not much. My husband got mad because I managed to eat most of it before he got around to it. Making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Would use regular cabbage if I made this again as I did not care for the texture of the savoy cabbage, otherwise great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I made this vegan by using TVP reconstituted in tomato bouillon. Didn't have a parsnip so added chopped sweet red pepper and some minced garlic. Instead of the paste, sauce and dressing, I used an organic spaghetti sauce. Everyone enjoyed this. Sadly, no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This is wonderful, and is a very versatile recipe. I was looking for something I could make from ingredients on hand, used regular cabbage instead of savoy, no parsnip - so I shredded up some of the cabbage, no Italian dressing - I used italian spices instead. I went light on the cheese, to keep calories down. This dish had a real comfort food feel, like lasagne, but with more veggies. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
4 stars. easier than making the rolls. tell the family it's cabbage lasagne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States