Lazy Baked Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Despite what this recipe says be sure to spray or grease your casserole dish. I didn't and the noodles stuck horribly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Best served very hot, but doesn't re-heat well (like most macaroni and cheese). It's the only baked macaroni and cheese recipe I use! It was requested by a family member for Thanksgiving. Best to use a deep casserole dish, not a 9x13 pan. It gets too dry in a 9x13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
Needed a little zip, so I added a couple shakes of dried minced onion, some bacon bits, a couple dashes of hot sauce and then topped the casserole with a can of stewed tomatoes. Serve with crisp green salad. Fresh fruit for dessert. The green salad and the fruit take away the sin of the fat from the mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Very good with a few changes. I halved the recipe (plenty still to feed 4), used velvetta cheese, hot sauce & added a package of little smokies. I also stirred it about half way thru cooking because the outside was burning and the inside was still gooey. My hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idabel, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I love this dish! It tastes great and is so much easier to fix than other recipes I have tried. You do have to watch it though because the edges and bottom will burn and become tough. I added bread crumbs to the top before baking and that gives it a crunchy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
It's great for ease. It has a rather unusual texture, creamy and custardy, almost like an egg/cheese custard around noodles. It went over well but I'd like to play more with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This recipe was very easy and very good. I had to bake it a little longer- about 55 minutes but it turned out perfectly. I also added about 6 oz of velveeta to the recipe. This makes a lot and the leftovers were better than the day of! I will be making this again. But it is very rich so I would use it as a side next time. I think it would be great with some veggies and ham added in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
My mom loved this; I wasn't crazy about it. HOWEVER, I did use 1 can fat free evaporated and 1 regular, plus a mix of cheeses instead of just American. I'm sure if I followed it to a T it would've been great ;o) Also, don't put this in a 9x13, use a nice deep casserole dish and small elbows. Large ones will expand and you'll end up with mac & cheese pie like me lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NYCKID
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Easy. Tasty. GONE! My kids devoured this dish. I added bacon bits as well. I also sprayed my baking dish with PAM and coated it with breadcrumbs for a nice crust around the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCKID

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made this for my brother's wedding reception. It got great reviews even thought I burned the bottom. It is very easy to make and quite tasty. I suggest taking other users suggestions of using a smaller, but deeper vessel and keep an eye on it. I will definitely make this again and try some experimentation with spice. I think a little nutmeg and mined onion would be fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States