Lazy Baked Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Baked macaroni cheese has always been the way we do it in our family, and this is a really great version. Because I was making it for others, I boiled the pasta lightly first, just in case. I made a huge tray of it for a church social: Made it before Mass, left it in the cooling oven during Mass and brought it out afterwards. The dish was licked clean! I will definitely make it again. In fact, may make it for over Christmas, when family will be travelling and getting here 'some time' - it's very forgiving at being left in the oven. Yummmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I would mix everything in a separate bowl and then place in my pam sprayed dish. I would definitely add velveta cheese. The egg came through more than the cheese flavour. Tasted more like a strata bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
It was ok. Tasted more like a casserole than Mac & Cheese. I'd make it again, especially on a tired night (I'd love to give this a try in the crock pot!), but if I'm after the flavor of real Mac & Cheese, I'll go back to my old standby. I'm just now noticing all of the complaints about texture and someone else mentioned it took twice as long in a gas range. I used frozen cheese (I have diced & shredded cheese that I keep in the freezer ready to go for these types of recipes) so I took it out after 20 minutes and stirred it real good. It was starting to really stick, so I was glad I did. I then cooked it for another 30 minutes and the pasta wasn't quite done, so I stuck it back in for another 10 minutes (without stirring), let it sit for 5-10 minutes and it was perfect! No problems with undercooked noodles whatsoever. I also used my dutch oven for the baking. This really isn't a bad recipe, it just doesn't taste like Mac & Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
more like Macaroni Loaf, just not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
The elbow macaroni tasted as though it was straight from the bag. I highly recommend boiling the macaroni first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I like this mac. It is true that the noodles are al dente but I'm ok w/that. Was surprised they came out as done as they did w/o having to be covered. True this does not reheat well as it is not very creamy. I should have mixed the cheese in better w/the noodles as the noodles were at the bottom w/a tastey cheese layer on top. Would have liked a better mix. Have made before. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I made this for a potluck and there was not a crumb left! I loved that you don't preboil the macaroni. I used a chili pot and that worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This recipe is so easy and cost-effective! First time making baked mac & cheese, I used tri-colored rotini (personal preference) and cheddar (half-mild, half sharp) instead of American. I'm thinking shredded American can only be found at a butcher or deli; I couldn't find it. I messed up and added five eggs instead or four; no biggie. This was a requested side dish to take to a barbeque. It was ALL eaten up in an hour and many raved on how good it was. I made a second batch for myself last night; this time using all the correct quantities. I also used half mild cheddar and gouda instead. Unfortunately, I forgot to add the salt. This time, it came out rather bland and not as well-cooked. I should have gotten smoked gouda. I think from now on I'll be using five eggs for 12 servings, and using half lb. sharp cheddar, half lb. something else. Also, I have a gas stove, so 350 for 1 hour on electric = 350/1 hour 45 minutes on gas. Still, gotta tell ya, it was easy easy easy and a hit at the party! Thank you very much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YAHAIRAC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Miami Shores, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
If I could give it a zero star, I would. I cut the recipe in half and baked it as per the directions. The end result was dry and eggy. I tried to save it by adding milk, and that only made it worse. On top of the texture issue, it was extremely bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was super easy and very good! I halved the recipe for my husband and I and we still had left overs for 2 days (lunch!) I thought it was just fine reheated (some reviewers did not agree). I subbed whole wheat macaroni and used organic shredded white cheddar cheese. I also added a little garlic salt and thought that tasted great. Very cheesy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States