Layered Vegetable Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Delish! I added a cup of drained and rinsed canned black beans and a cup of chopped green bell pepper. I also added some cumin and red pepper as a few other suggested and it was worth it. The store I went to didn't have a 17.5 oz jar of enchilada sauce so I just got 16 oz and that was plenty! I'll most likely make this at least one more time. Oh! Just an FYI 2 cups of zucchini is approximately 1 pretty big one, I ended up buying too many since I wasn't sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hugadandylion

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Pretty good and easy. Jesse really liked it. We added mushrooms, black beans and a little broccoli (could hardly notice them!). I thought it was a little too wet--should drain the veggies well and not overdo the sauce. Also, next time use Hatch sauce. Should season the veggies with at least a little garlic, salt and pepper. I didn't like the corn b/c it was a little too sweet, but could have gone for more spinach and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ave's4cooking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I did use more enchilada sauce than what was called for. I also fried my corn tortillas in vegetable oil before using them in this recipe. This was fair. I think it's a good start but I think for us, it needs a little more "oomph" and more variety of vegetables. I'd use this idea again but just embellish on it. I made homemade refried beans and homemade mexican rice to go with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Delicious. I added a few more veggies (broccoli, mushrooms) and because I live in such a hot climate I did not want to turn on the oven. I did this skillet style. I took my square skillet, and just did the layering in that. Covered it, let it cook for about 20 minutes and wah-lah. Skillet style casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Very easy and yummy. I made it twice; first, exactly as written, and then with cumin and red pepper added (as DLORD suggested). The kicked-up version was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
My son is so not a veggie lover, especially zucchini and corn but he not only ate one helping, he ate two!!! I added a green bell pepper, garlic & a can of black beans (drained & rinsed) to the vegetable mixture. I had leftover corn on the cob so I just chopped the kernels off and used that instead of frozen. Like other reviewers mentioned as a good addition, I added a few dashes of cumin and cayenne to the veggie mix. I assembled this casserole by starting with sauce, then tortillas, then more sauce, half of the veggie mixture, reduced fat Mexican cheese blend, tortillas, sauce, veggies, cheese, tortillas, sauce, cheese and topped it all off with some minced chives from the garden and popped it into the oven. Don't be shy with the enchilada sauce (I just used the brand I had) in your layers or this will be dry but too much will make it a mushy mess. I didn't measure how much I used but I would say I used about 1/2 a cup for each layer. Served it with a dollop of sour cream, chopped cilantro and some pickled jalapeno peppers. If this got my kid to eat veggies, it is a MUST for our regular rotation. ! love recipes that push those vegetables!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Hubby and kids loved it! I followed the recipe as it was and just added a little Mrs. Dash Fiesta Lime seasoning to the veggies while cooking. Wish I had leftovers!! Definitely making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Abron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe and will definitely be making it again. It was easy, tasty, and healthy. I used reduced fat mexican blend cheese, and fresh corn, and I kicked in a little cumin and red pepper in the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
A yummy dish. It truly depends on the type of enchilada sauce that you use. I used Rosarita enchilada sauce and ended up using more sauce than the recipe required, which helped keep the corn tortillas from getting too tough. I would recommend added sliced olives on top along with chives or green onions. Some cottage cheese (1 pint?) added to the stuffing would make it stick together better as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Didn't like this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States