Layered Vegetable Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I thought the combination of vegetables with added black beans and bell pepper really gave this enchilada casserole a bang for it's buck. Never knew it was missing the meat :) Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I did use more enchilada sauce than what was called for. I also fried my corn tortillas in vegetable oil before using them in this recipe. This was fair. I think it's a good start but I think for us, it needs a little more "oomph" and more variety of vegetables. I'd use this idea again but just embellish on it. I made homemade refried beans and homemade mexican rice to go with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Love this recipe and have used it as inspiration for other enchilada dishes - no more fussy rolling, it is so much easier to make casseroles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEG9881

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
It was easy to throw together, and involves lots of veggies - two of my favorite things in a recipe! I added half a green pepper that I had in the fridge. I only needed a 10-oz. can of enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
very nice. only 4 stars because I believe in fair ratings based on no changes and I did not have zucchini so I added 1 can of black beans and some extra onion to make up the bulk difference. Also made my own enchilada sauce. This is basic enough that it would be easy to personalize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamar Lundeen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
My son is so not a veggie lover, especially zucchini and corn but he not only ate one helping, he ate two!!! I added a green bell pepper, garlic & a can of black beans (drained & rinsed) to the vegetable mixture. I had leftover corn on the cob so I just chopped the kernels off and used that instead of frozen. Like other reviewers mentioned as a good addition, I added a few dashes of cumin and cayenne to the veggie mix. I assembled this casserole by starting with sauce, then tortillas, then more sauce, half of the veggie mixture, reduced fat Mexican cheese blend, tortillas, sauce, veggies, cheese, tortillas, sauce, cheese and topped it all off with some minced chives from the garden and popped it into the oven. Don't be shy with the enchilada sauce (I just used the brand I had) in your layers or this will be dry but too much will make it a mushy mess. I didn't measure how much I used but I would say I used about 1/2 a cup for each layer. Served it with a dollop of sour cream, chopped cilantro and some pickled jalapeno peppers. If this got my kid to eat veggies, it is a MUST for our regular rotation. ! love recipes that push those vegetables!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zobird
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I made this using the recipe for Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce on this site. Also added some garlic and beans to the vegetables. It was very good and we will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zobird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was alright. I think some black beans would have added something to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Delish! I added a cup of drained and rinsed canned black beans and a cup of chopped green bell pepper. I also added some cumin and red pepper as a few other suggested and it was worth it. The store I went to didn't have a 17.5 oz jar of enchilada sauce so I just got 16 oz and that was plenty! I'll most likely make this at least one more time. Oh! Just an FYI 2 cups of zucchini is approximately 1 pretty big one, I ended up buying too many since I wasn't sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hugadandylion

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Yummy, but requires more seasoning. I added 2 TB fajita seasoning, 1 tsp cumin, and 1/4 tsp garlic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States