Layered Spinach Mostaccioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by armychiqharris
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Added more of each ingredient but still a great recipe that shall be used again and again since my husband and kids love spinach!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This was a little bland for my taste. I probably need to make the sauce from scratch, or use a different jarred sauce with a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Love anything with spinach, but this was a new and easier way to use it with Italian. I usually make a spinach lasagna, but this was way better and easier for my kids to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2kinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This is a very good dish for entertaining. I used fresh spinach and ricotta cheese. I didn't really like the ricotta cheese added. I think next time I will add italian sausage or ground beef. The dish was really awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Simple and very good. Subbed fresh spinach for the frozen- made ahead and assembled, froze it and then baked for 1 hour 15 minutes on 375- covered. thanks Jo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I substituted farfalle for the mostacciolli and made the spaghetti sauce from scratch using fresh tomatoes--which are in season. I also substituted fresh spinach rather than frozen. I served this to half a dozen non-vegetarians and they thought it was quite good and didn't realize this was a meatless dish. I will definitely make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
We were not pleased with the spinach flavor in this. There was too much spinach for us maybe? It overpowered the Italian sausage we used. If I had it to do over I'd maybe use a blender to blend the spinach into the sauce, but I won't try it again to find out if I like that better, because this wound up being a waste of money for us because we could not finish it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Decent recipe. I added a half pound browned ground turkey that I had on hand. It was nice for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This was ok...I think if I would have used a different sauce I would have given it a "5". I also think that this can be mixed all together instead of layered...maybe just a cheese layer to make it cheesy like it was this time. I didn't really care for the "layer" of spinach either. We do like spinach in dishes like this, so next time I will use a better sauce and mix the spinach in...I'm sure it will get a "5" then! Thanks so much for the idea! I am always looking for new meat free pasta dishes other than spaghetti! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALMEMOORE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This was great. Quick, easy and tasty!!! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADE1977

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Simple Spinach Toasts

Turn leftover creamed spinach into a simple and delicious hot lunch.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States