Layered Spinach Mostaccioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I love spinach, so therefore, this was a good recipe for me. My children like raw spinach, not cooked, so I did the OBVIOUS adding it to a 1/4 of the caserole dish (using 1/4 spinach called for as well). I used my own meat sauce, which also included sausage and that was a great addition. This was an easy alternative to lasagna and I didn't have to hear 1 single complaint. I think that the 8 oz. box of pasta is a mistake, I normally use 16 oz. and it feeds the 4 of us + the baby (I have what my husband would have eaten left over, as he is out of town on business[again]). I will use this again, thanks Jo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
My family and I LOVED this dish! I added garlic and crushed red peppers, as suggested by others. I also used 16 ounces of pasta, 32 ounces spaghetti sauce, and 2 packages of spinach. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Yummy! I wanted something spaghetti-like, but different.. And this was perfect! It's great to be able to sneak the spinach into the kid's meal. I seasoned the spinach before layering in the dish. Other than that, I followed the recipe almost exactly (omitted Parmesan as we're out). The recipe is perfect as written! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
We absolutely loved this! I added some chopped onion, pressed garlic, and cilantro to the spinach. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMBRLYB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
This is yummy and very easy. Next time, I think I'll throw a little crushed red pepper in the sauce, just to give it a little kick. Maybe play around with different cheeses as suggested, or maybe even add mushrooms. I like a recipe with many possibilities. Thanks for this one! One question for one of the reviewers below. Why on earth, if you don't like cooked spinach, would you choose a recipe with cooked spinach as the *main ingredient*, then give it one star for having cooked spinach?? Think about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
Simple to make & very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Great family meal, easy to make, and it makes a great potluck entree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Serving this recipe will make people think you actually know what you are doing in the kitchen. I am the least domestic person I know. This was quick and easy and my family loved it. I also threw in some hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I made a few minor changes... added some ground beef and mushrooms to the sauce, and used fresh spinach instead of frozen. My husband and I both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Chef John’s Simple Spinach Toasts

Turn leftover creamed spinach into a simple and delicious hot lunch.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States