Layered Spinach Mostaccioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I added about a 1/2 cup of ricotta, some oregano & garlic salt and mixed it in with the mozzarella and the spinach all together. I also used whole wheat fusilli and it definitely could use more pasta with this amount of sauce. But overall it was a great recipe. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
quite scrumptious and easy to make. i added cooked ground beef and onions to the pasta sauce for a more hearty feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Belle Mead, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I made a few minor changes... added some ground beef and mushrooms to the sauce, and used fresh spinach instead of frozen. My husband and I both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I made some pretty major revisions so that it would be good for my family. I added ground turkey to the sauce and used fresh spinach (about 1/2 of what was called for.) and layered it as per the recipe. The major thing was that my husband couldnt find Mostaccioli so I used whole wheat penne pasta instead. Because of the layering it had the allusion of a lasagana or a traditional pasta bake but because I used healthier subsitutions I think it was a good healthy alternate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Yummy! I wanted something spaghetti-like, but different.. And this was perfect! It's great to be able to sneak the spinach into the kid's meal. I seasoned the spinach before layering in the dish. Other than that, I followed the recipe almost exactly (omitted Parmesan as we're out). The recipe is perfect as written! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I also doubled the amount of pasta and used a lot more mozzarella. I think some ricotta would have been good in it, like a baked ziti with spinach. Overall it was very good and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Serving this recipe will make people think you actually know what you are doing in the kitchen. I am the least domestic person I know. This was quick and easy and my family loved it. I also threw in some hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
My family and I LOVED this dish! I added garlic and crushed red peppers, as suggested by others. I also used 16 ounces of pasta, 32 ounces spaghetti sauce, and 2 packages of spinach. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
Simple but good pasta dish! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Pretty good. Needs more spinach! Next time I'll definitely add more spinach but aside from that it's your basic ziti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Simple Spinach Toasts

Turn leftover creamed spinach into a simple and delicious hot lunch.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States