Layered Peppermint Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I made this twice. The first time as written, the second time used vanilla instead of peppermint extract, with equal amounts dark and white chocolate. My family preferred the second batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda Prewitt Scurlock

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I never liked peppermint bark and was not a white chocolate fan until I made this. I've gotten so many rave reviews for this and everyone asks for the recipe! It's the dark chocolate ganache layer that makes it! I add a couple tbsp's of cream and a 1/2 tsp of peppermint extract to the top layer of white chocolate also, makes it a little softer. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Gotta do the ganache filling! I had no problem with the layers separating, but I didn't refrigerate the first layer for more than just a few minutes. That way the layers kind of fuse together. If you let the white chocolate completely harden I can see where it might separate. The soft ganache inner layer makes me think of a truffle filling and contrasts wonderfully with the hard white chocolate and peppermint bits. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariel Leeson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Easy to make, looks pretty. Perfect for gifts. Very impressed. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I made this to give to neighbors as Christmas gifts. It was easy to make and got lots of rave reviews. Several people commented that it was their favorite thing in the cookie tin. We will definitely make this again next year. It's a little different from other peppermint bark recipes because the chocolate layer in the middle stays creamy, which gives it a nice ganache quality. The flavor was very good, and they look quite pretty if you cut them into triangles. I used the microwave to melt the white chocolate just to make it easier, and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
The best peppermint bark ever - I think this will be my 4th year making it! Don't fear the double boiler, be sure to stir slowly so you don't allow air bubbles in the ganache. My family & friends beg for this stuff, nothing compares. Thank you to the creator or whoever came up with this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This is fantastic peppermint bark! I thought it might have too strong of a peppermint taste, but it was perfect. I made the recipe exactly as shown and had no issues. With the cream in the chocolate layer the consistency is more of a ganache, but putting it in the fridge between layers, per the instructions, hardened it right up! I have already shared the link to the recipe with several people! An easy holiday treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brebes4
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I left out the cream, as it kept causing my chocolate to seize, and I found I didn't need it to make the chocolate spreadable. Easy and delectable! However, a word of warning: do not mix peppermint extract with the dark chocolate either. I tried twice and threw out 2 bags of chocolate because the additive makes the chocolate seize. The solution was just to add the peppermint extract to the white chocolate instead, which mixed a little better. These make a great gift and a beautiful addition to a cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Loved this! Just make sure you've completely melted the chocolate before spreading, or it will be difficult to work with. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Excellent recipe. This is so delecious and easy to made. I didn't have heavy cream so I made it my own. I didn't use all the white chocolate because it seems too much and thick when I spred it over the dark chocolate. It turns out good, too. The chocolates that I used is for cooking and it will melt if I take it out from refrigerator for too long. Not so sure if others have the same issue or not. It's time consuming to cut the white chocolate but it's really worthed. I'll made this again. Thank you to share this recepi to all of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States