Layered Peppermint Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Fabulous! I accidentally put in way too much peppermint extract into the dark chocolate layer, but it tasted perfect. I did as others suggested and sifted the broken candy canes and added the "peppermint dust" to the white chocolate layer. I did the dark chocolate in a double boiler, but then just did the white chocolate in the microwave. Both came out great. I did dark on bottom, white, then sprinkled the peppermint in on the top. A lot of it fell out when I was breaking the bark, so next time I think I will either push it in harder or do as other recipes suggest and put the peppermint pieces on the bottom, pour white chocolate layer over, then dark chocolate layer on the top. (invert when ready to serve).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith Wong Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I think next time I will try a slighty larger pan to make it just a bit thinner bc this recipe seemed to be a little thick, but other excellent! I did not have a double broiler but was able to make do just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This recipe is perfect as is! I don't think I used 30 peppermint candies because I wasn't measuring but you can put as little or as much as you like. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This is delicious. I was a little nervous about the dark chocolate layer squishing out after reading the other reviews, but decided to go ahead with the recipe as is. I'm so glad I did!! The ganache does not squish out, not even at room temperature and the flavor and texture are amazing! I'm not even a huge fan of peppermint bark but I really liked this. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This stuff is FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Great dessert! I didn't swirl the chocolates together.... it all turned out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Ragle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Great peppermint bark, I made EXACTLY per recipe. NEXT TIME I will do this: 1) Omit cream from chocolate, it makes it too soft and melts on hands too easily. 2) Melt ALL of the white chocolate at one time and spread on sheet, layer with 1/4 crushed candy 3) Spread all of the semisweet chocolate on top of chilled white chocolate, the semisweet chocolate has a strong flavor, so make the top layer of the semisweet chocolate thinner than the white chocolate ( I was temped to use equal parts chocolate just because I had the semisweet chips left). 4) Sprinkle with the rest of the crushed peppermint candy. Like I said, I tried the exact recipe and the semisweet chocolate didn't ever set up correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CKandi007
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I got great reviews on my bark! I used about 1 lb of both milk and white chocolate for a 9x13 dish and also used peppermint oil vs extract. I crushed 12 candy canes and sifted the finer pieces out for the first layer and then topped everything off with the coarser pieces. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKandi007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I made the recipe almost exactly as shown, though I used semi-sweet instead of dark chocolate, and used 24 oz of white and 12 oz semi-sweet (chocolate chips in 12 oz bags). I used the creme in the middle layer, and it was not too soft, as some reviews said, but a great contrast to the hard white chocolate on the top and bottom. I "chilled" each layer in the refrigerator so that the next layer could be spread over easily, and it has stayed hard, even after completely warming to room temp. I took this to a holiday party and got a lot of compliments and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Fitch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I made it just like the recipe said and used ghirardelli chocolate. It was a definite hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States