Layered Peppermint Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Great peppermint bark, I made EXACTLY per recipe. NEXT TIME I will do this: 1) Omit cream from chocolate, it makes it too soft and melts on hands too easily. 2) Melt ALL of the white chocolate at one time and spread on sheet, layer with 1/4 crushed candy 3) Spread all of the semisweet chocolate on top of chilled white chocolate, the semisweet chocolate has a strong flavor, so make the top layer of the semisweet chocolate thinner than the white chocolate ( I was temped to use equal parts chocolate just because I had the semisweet chips left). 4) Sprinkle with the rest of the crushed peppermint candy. Like I said, I tried the exact recipe and the semisweet chocolate didn't ever set up correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandymuggins
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Excellent recipe. I only gave it 4 starts since I modified it after reading another review. I omitted the cream. I used crushed candy canes (4) and folded them into the white chocolate. I didn't have any peppermint extract so I just drizzled plain melted dark chocolate over the white choc/candy cane mixture and then cut thru it with a knife - so it looked swirly & pretty. Then I topped it with the remaining crushed candy cane. Chilled it, then flipped it on the counter and cut it when it was room temp. It looks beautiful and is a hit on the holiday baking tray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CKandi007
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I got great reviews on my bark! I used about 1 lb of both milk and white chocolate for a 9x13 dish and also used peppermint oil vs extract. I crushed 12 candy canes and sifted the finer pieces out for the first layer and then topped everything off with the coarser pieces. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKandi007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Fabulous! I accidentally put in way too much peppermint extract into the dark chocolate layer, but it tasted perfect. I did as others suggested and sifted the broken candy canes and added the "peppermint dust" to the white chocolate layer. I did the dark chocolate in a double boiler, but then just did the white chocolate in the microwave. Both came out great. I did dark on bottom, white, then sprinkled the peppermint in on the top. A lot of it fell out when I was breaking the bark, so next time I think I will either push it in harder or do as other recipes suggest and put the peppermint pieces on the bottom, pour white chocolate layer over, then dark chocolate layer on the top. (invert when ready to serve).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith Wong Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I made the recipe almost exactly as shown, though I used semi-sweet instead of dark chocolate, and used 24 oz of white and 12 oz semi-sweet (chocolate chips in 12 oz bags). I used the creme in the middle layer, and it was not too soft, as some reviews said, but a great contrast to the hard white chocolate on the top and bottom. I "chilled" each layer in the refrigerator so that the next layer could be spread over easily, and it has stayed hard, even after completely warming to room temp. I took this to a holiday party and got a lot of compliments and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Fitch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Make sure you use GOOD QUALITY chocolate (like Ghiradelli). Turned out delicious. I was a little nervous about the dark chocolate layer squishing out after reading the other reviews, but decided to go ahead with the recipe as is. I'm so glad I did!! The ganache does not squish out, not even at room temperature and the flavor and texture are amazing! I'm a huge fan of peppermint bark and this was a great recipe! I really liked it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodeliciousCraig'sWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly, and it was wonderful! If you omit the cream, you will not get the ganache filling that makes it so awesome! I spread the white chocolate and made a little ridge around the edges of the pan, then cooled it. Then I put in the chocolate filling, and put it in the freezer until it was frozen. Then when I spread the last of the white chocolate on the top, the white edges seal together. Just don't spread it around too much or it will melt the chocolate and it won't look as nice. I cut mine with a large sharp chopping knife and it worked great. Thank you for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAHLERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandt, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
As an old time maker of this delicious treat it is important to get the timing of adding the white chocolate to the dark chocolate at right time. Everyone always say to chill the white chocolate. I never do. I keep an eye on it and when the chocolate loses that super glossy look that shows that it is "setting up" that is when I add the white chocolate. I must add that I live in New Mexico and we keep the house "coolish" so if you have a hot kitchen and want to put the dish in the fridge, go ahead, but watch it every minutes. Putting one chocolate on top of another "cold chocolate" does not allow the two chocolates to hold on very well and will let the white chocolate come off of the dark when you go to cut it. I follow the rest of the recipe, more or less, to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I made it just like the recipe said and used ghirardelli chocolate. It was a definite hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Taste and presentation is 5 star, esp. with the cream & extract added to the chocolate and if careful to layer edges evenly. Which puts this above some other peppermint bark recipes, in my opinion. I rated 4 stars because I thought the mechanics of the recipe could be better. First "30 peppermint candies" is vague, to me. I used 12 regular/large candy canes: and it was just enough for my tupperware 9x13 (who has a 9 x 12 ?)that I used instead of foil or parchment:it flexes just enough, to work well. I found double plastic bagging and pounding with a meat mallet worked best to crush the peppermint,but not pulverize. Also, the chocolate layer doesnt separate as easily (when cutting)if you don't let it set in fridge more than a few minutes instead of 20 to add the next layer. And, white chocolate "chips" works fine. But be aware to melt LOW and SLOW ( I did in microwave in 20 second intervals on 50% power, stirring each time) as chocolate seizes up easily(trust me, I know!:) I also,added a little (1 tsp)veg oil to help to liquify/spread easier. And,do slightly press top layer of candy canes into the white chocolate. It falls off, when cutting, if you don't. And, lastly, i will use another full 10 oz bag of white chocolate for a 9x 13:it was barely enough with only 1 " larger pan. Although, these are notes to myself. Hopefully, this helps someone else when making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States