Layered Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
My mom made this salad for years, and its a holiday favorite. So easy because you make it the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne Shaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I love the original version (I am the author); but, Stacy, your ceasar version sounds YUMMY! I will try it! Save it as a custom version so others will see it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkturnage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This is a great summer salad. Something cool when it's hot outside and you just don't want anything hot to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was a very easy and quick salad to make I changed it up a little added diced onions and minced garlic to give it a little kick swaped out the miracle whip for ceasar dressing and opted for fresh spinache and romaine lettuce instead of iceberg I used freshly cooked bacon it was wonderfu;
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hicksville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Awesome idea, got me to thinking of other directions I can go with salads, serve in a larger mason jar instead of bowls, would be fun mixing and eating the salad that you like. Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This is similar to my mother-in-law's Seven Layer Salad. The lettuce would be on the bottom, followed by a layer of celery, green onions (or bell pepper) followed by a layer of frozen peas (much tastier than canned peas), layer of your favorite dressing (mayo, miracle whip or you could do ranch or caesar), shredded cheddar and bacon bits..seven layers. When you use the frozen peas, it helps keep everything below the peas stay fresher longer and it can be made ahead by even a day with no problem. It was/is always one of my favorite salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I tried this recipe with the "canned peas." Not nearly as good as when made with frozen peas. The lettuce layers are not pretty either. Eye appeal is very important to me. I'll not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joydee Mccorkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Love the ease of making this the night before. I'm with some of the other reviewers, frozen peas work better. Also, I added tomatoes and green onions, this recipe is awesome because of all the veggies you can add to it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This was delicious and a hit at our family Christmas gathering. I used the canned peas and found it worked well. I think the canned allows for better blending of flavors. Recipes you can make ahead are great for me! Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Domer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I liked this. I only had fresh English peas I bought from Trader Joes which came in a 14oz bag. As a result, I made 1/4 of the recipe and layered the salad in 4 small glass dishes creating mini arranged salads. I cooked the peas in the microwave for 10 minutes in some salted water. I used regular mayo and sugar in the raw. I like something crunchy in my salad. I didn't have any croutons, but added some corn chips. This really did work well. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States