Layered Patchwork Soup Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
After reading the other reviews I used the recipe as a base. I fried 2 onions and 2 teaspoons of fresh garlic in the pot before adding the other ingredients. I added a teaspoon of vegetable stock powder, one chopped chilli, a cup of dried chickpeas, some fresh herbs from the garden eg parsley, oregano & basil, and a tin of crushed tomatoes. I also used a cup of pasta which I added at the end of the cooking time instead of the rice. I had to add an extra 4 cups of water during cooking. NB: The pepper is not overwhelming! This is a great winter soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Very yummy! It has enough flavor that you don't even miss that it doesn't have meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I omitted salt from the seasoning packet. When I cooked up the soup, I used only 8 cups of water, knowing that I like thick stews. I added 2 carrots, a sliced clove of garlic, and 2 kale leaves. This was ready to serve in 35 minutes. There are so many possibilities of adding additional veggies! Next time I will cut the amount of pepper in half for the sake of DH, but I enjoyed the amount in the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
Delicious! A very hearty soup that is also very tastey. It's easy to make - everyone I gave this soup mix to raved about it. I highly recommend you give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
I used this recipe, and added beef bullion. I gave them out for Christmas. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I made this soup "as is" since I planned on giving it out as gifts and I wanted us to try it the way it was presented. It is a good soup, and makes a LOT. For us personally, next time I will doctor it up a bit, add more garlic, maybe some bouillon, etc. For leftovers we added smoked sausage. I picked it over the myriad of soup mixes because it could be given to my vegetarian friends, and because it was so simple. Look for red lentils if you can find them. It was pretty in the jar, and well received. I put the spices in a snack-sized ziplock bag and stuffed it in the top of the jar. It all fit very nicely. I also used brown rice instead of white rice. Just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandi
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I really enjoyed the soup. I thought the pepper would be over whelming, so I cut it in half (most recipes seem to have a 2:1 ratio of salt to pepper). My children didn't care for the strong sage flavor, but I enjoyed it. I also used brown rice instead of white. To give the gift jars more color, I used 1/4 c green and 1/4 c yellow split peas as well as 1/4 c red lentils and 1/4 c regular lentils. I found some 3" x 4" clear treat bags in the wedding section at Walmart for the spice packet. I tied with ribbon and used a cute holiday gift tag I found on a scrapbooking site for free (shabbyprincess.com). I put the instructions on the back of the tag. Overall I really like this recipe and would make it again as well as give it away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I made this for dinner tonight. It serves way more than two--probably about six. I sauteed the onion in olive oil, then added the water, peas, lentils, barley, and rice. Then stirred in all seasonings except for the salt. It cooked in about 30 minutes, then I stirred in 6 chicken bouillon cubes and the salt. Only four stars because it needed something more as far as seasonings go. It has a chewy texture, due to the rice and barley, not a mushy one like I expected. I like it and will make it again. It's a great way to get fiber and protein, and the grains and legumes make a complete protein!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Nice for a gift jar. Soup is hearty and tasty. However, the posted yield is ridiculous. Just notice the 10 cups of water and total 2 cups of grains and you will realize that it yields 8 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I'm really thinking this may be a 2-star, but I ate it so we'll go with 3. I read all the reviews and followed some of the tips. I cut the pepper in half, added 4 chicken bouillon cubes, and at about 10-minutes to done I added 3 cups of crisp veggies. It was still bland. It smelled amazing, but had no flavor at all. I doctored my bowl with additional pepper, salt, and garlic powder. It helped tremendously. IF I make this again, and that's a big IF, I'll be including the full amount of pepper and then some, lots more salt, and a fair amount of garlic powder. I might even consider adding some crushed garlic sauteed with chicken and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States