Layered Patchwork Soup Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
Delicious! A very hearty soup that is also very tastey. It's easy to make - everyone I gave this soup mix to raved about it. I highly recommend you give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I made this for dinner tonight. It serves way more than two--probably about six. I sauteed the onion in olive oil, then added the water, peas, lentils, barley, and rice. Then stirred in all seasonings except for the salt. It cooked in about 30 minutes, then I stirred in 6 chicken bouillon cubes and the salt. Only four stars because it needed something more as far as seasonings go. It has a chewy texture, due to the rice and barley, not a mushy one like I expected. I like it and will make it again. It's a great way to get fiber and protein, and the grains and legumes make a complete protein!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Nice for a gift jar. Soup is hearty and tasty. However, the posted yield is ridiculous. Just notice the 10 cups of water and total 2 cups of grains and you will realize that it yields 8 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I made this soup "as is" since I planned on giving it out as gifts and I wanted us to try it the way it was presented. It is a good soup, and makes a LOT. For us personally, next time I will doctor it up a bit, add more garlic, maybe some bouillon, etc. For leftovers we added smoked sausage. I picked it over the myriad of soup mixes because it could be given to my vegetarian friends, and because it was so simple. Look for red lentils if you can find them. It was pretty in the jar, and well received. I put the spices in a snack-sized ziplock bag and stuffed it in the top of the jar. It all fit very nicely. I also used brown rice instead of white rice. Just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
I used this recipe, and added beef bullion. I gave them out for Christmas. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
After reading the other reviews I used the recipe as a base. I fried 2 onions and 2 teaspoons of fresh garlic in the pot before adding the other ingredients. I added a teaspoon of vegetable stock powder, one chopped chilli, a cup of dried chickpeas, some fresh herbs from the garden eg parsley, oregano & basil, and a tin of crushed tomatoes. I also used a cup of pasta which I added at the end of the cooking time instead of the rice. I had to add an extra 4 cups of water during cooking. NB: The pepper is not overwhelming! This is a great winter soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
A good basic soup, but I found it bland. I would recommend increasing the seasoning. However, a friend to whom I gave this "jar mix" loved the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I have received this soup as a gift twice in the past few years. The first time I prepared it, I had to force it down because the black pepper was overpowering for the quantity of soup it made. I received a jar again this month and did not realize it was the exact same soup with the exact same pepper problem until I tasted it last night and had deja vu. I wonder if there was a pepper typo error when the recipe got circulated over the years? Maybe I am the only one who finds the pepper overwhelming when the soup is prepared according to the directions without any alterations or additions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I wanted to do a soup-in-a-jar mix for colleagues and less-close friends, and I'm glad I tried this before I just "wrapped" it. The original recipe is gelatinous and downright gross. I tweaked it a bit, and it was delicious the second time around. I omitted rice (since that's what made it so sticky) while keeping the same water amount, doubled the garlic powder, used cumin instead of sage, and added 1/4 cup chicken stock powder (would have preferred beef but grocery was out). I also sauteed the onion in olive oil before adding lentils/barley/peas. So good. The changes are easy enough to put in instructions, so I'll give out my tweaked version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandi
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I really enjoyed the soup. I thought the pepper would be over whelming, so I cut it in half (most recipes seem to have a 2:1 ratio of salt to pepper). My children didn't care for the strong sage flavor, but I enjoyed it. I also used brown rice instead of white. To give the gift jars more color, I used 1/4 c green and 1/4 c yellow split peas as well as 1/4 c red lentils and 1/4 c regular lentils. I found some 3" x 4" clear treat bags in the wedding section at Walmart for the spice packet. I tied with ribbon and used a cute holiday gift tag I found on a scrapbooking site for free (shabbyprincess.com). I put the instructions on the back of the tag. Overall I really like this recipe and would make it again as well as give it away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States