Layered Mint Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
In Canada, our sweetened condensed milk comes in a 300ml can (which equals only 10 US fluid oz, not 14). A quick look on the Eagle Brand Canada site turned up the same recipe using the 300ml size. For those who live in Canada, here are the ingredient amounts: 10 (1oz/28g each) semi-sweet chocolate baking squares*; 1 can (300ml) Regular Eagle Brand Sweetened Condensed Milk; 2 tsp. vanilla extract; 1 pkg (170g) white baking chocolate*; 1 tbsp. peppermint extract; Few drops green food coloring (Optional); *If you want to use chocolate chips, I have done the conversions. Note: For those who may be thinking that 10oz equals 1 1/4 cups, remember that is in liquid form and liquid is measured by volume, whereas solids are measure by weight. 2 squares at 1oz each (2oz) = 1/3 cup; 4 squares (4oz) = 2/3 cup; 6 squares (6oz) = 1 cup; 170g = 5.99oz or approx. 6oz; 175g = 6.17oz or approx. 6oz; Substitute 1 2/3 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips for the 10oz of baking squares (6oz + 4oz = 10oz - see above); Substitute 1 cup of white chocolate chips (6oz - see above) for the 170g of white baking chocolate. The preparation is the same except that it states to add the vanilla extract after you remove the melted chocolate from the heat, to use parchment paper, and to use an 8 inch pan. The second time I made this, I made the chocolate layers in two batches. This allowed both layers to be even, and I also found the first time around that I had to reheat the chocolate after it sat anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
The fudge was spectacular. There were a couple things i would change first is to use a bit of a smaller pan or not use all of the 8x8 pan to make the fudge a bit thicker. Also use some more white chips for the filling to get more of a mint flavor and to use more peppermint extract about 1 1/2 tablespoons. First time making fudge an im going to keep in making it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I doubled the chocolate and added extra mint and it was great. I made a big batch and gave it out as Christmas treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Fairly easy to make, very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Not good. Very hard consistency and not great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was my first attempt at making fudge and this was a fantastic receipe. I did follow the other reviewers suggestion to double the bottom chocolate and i left the white chocolate on the top. i found it difficult to take it out of my square pan so i started making it in my cheescake springpan. it came out a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!!! The only thing I should've done was double it. It's so easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I loved this fudge. It tasted like a peppermint patty. I highly recommend doubling the fudge layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
The recipe is so rich that the individual servings should be like after dinner mints. Thus, a double batch is not really necessary. Also, the peppermint flavor had an unpleasant tang, sort of like mouthwash. Perhaps that was the brand's fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Very easy to make, virtually no cooking if you melt everything in the microwave. Kids love this fudge as well as some real sweet lovers. I also increased the mint by another 1/2 T, very minty but definitely did not ruin the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States