Layered Mint Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
2nd time I've made this fudge...first time was a disaster. Great flavor, but the mint part wouldn't even spread. This time, wasn't thinking and doubled BOTH the chocolate and the white recipes. OOPS! Definitely doubling the white is great to top the 8x8 pan, but you do not need to double the chocolate. Use a full 14oz can of sweetened condensed milk for each the chocolate and the mint, and it will be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is so good, just melts in your mouth. Made it last year for a work bake contest and won 2nd place!!! Everyone wanted the recipe for it. I'm going to make it again this year for a fundraiser bake sale at work. I did double the recipe and used a large rectangular glass dish and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Perhaps I've done something wrong. I found that only 12 oz. of chocolate chips didn't make a lot of fudge to divide in half. Plus, when I used white chocolate chips in lieu of baking chocolate, the white chocolate mixture gave off a watery residue. I ended up throwing away the white chocolate portion, sprinkled some Andes candies pieces on top of the first half of the fudge and covered it with the balance of the chocolate fudge. If I make this again, I will follow the recipe exactly. I also found 8 oz. of condensed milk from a 14 oz. jar didn't leave much left for the white chocolate portion (I used a liquid measuring cup to measure the 8 oz). I'd be curious to know if anyone else had this same problem. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Very good, similar to Andes mints. I found the mint flavor a bit too strong, though, I would halve it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This was so smooth and creamy. It tasted just like an Andes mint. I also added a few mint chocolate chips to the middle layer just before I put it into the pan for some extra texture. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This was a marvelous recipe!!! I made it for a bake sale fundraiser, and everyone wanted to know how to make it, and they all commented on the fact it tasted like Andes Mints...:D I made two batches, the first I did as directed, and the second I actually decided to sprinkle chopped up pieces of Andes, it was FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelica Zaldivar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This recipe was super easy and turned out exactly as promised. After reading some of the reviews I was worried the fudge would be too thin, but it was the perfect thickness. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlyNW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheney, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I don't usually give bad reviews, but right now I have an 8x8 pan of chocolate mint goo sitting in my fridge that hasn't set, despite being in there ALL night! I followed the recipe exactly, except I had to use evaporated milk sweetened with sugar instead of sweetened condensed milk. Probably the cause of the problem, though I read another review that did the same and had it turn out fine...so I don't know. I probably won't try this again. [UPDATE] I tried this recipe again for my boyfriend's sake and it turned out perfect. This time I had the evaporated milk and as soon as I opened the can I realized why my first attempt looked more like soup. I'm not a big fan of fudge but he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by branchan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Wow, was this easy! Instead of mint, I did a raspberry layer! Yummy! Although this doesn't make a thick fudge, I think it is perfect cut into small pieces and put into candy cups. As others have mentioned, you could double the chocolate layers to make it thicker, however, I prefer bite size pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracyc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I liked it, but everyone thought they looked unappetizing (the green threw people off) , and they didn't fully set. They were actually the only pieces of fudge that were left in my fridge after the night was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States