Layered Chocolate and Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
few combinations are as good as peanut butter and chocolate... and this is a great one. the dough isn't too sweet, giving you a good salty hit with the peanut butter. easy to make. next time, i will put all the dough in the bottom and sprinkle roasted peanuts on top. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I followed this recipe like it was the bible (as usual) and I found it worked out really well. Alot of these ingredients are things I have sitting around becoming useless so it was nice to use them up. Just so you know, I suggest putting them in the fridge for atleast 2 hours or the freezer for 30 min or more to let the chocolate set. Plan ahead if you are hoping to serve these as a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Pretty tasty. went together without too much trouble - I did ad about another 1/3 cup melted chocolate chips to help finish off the edges. Don't expect them to be around long once the roomates see they're out... Subbed in reduced fat PB, didn't seem to cause a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Let's just say that the kids in this house are making these disappear quickly! The peanut butter base/topping is terrific: I'm thinking of trying it as a standalone cookie (sans chocolate).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
These were great! I threw them together at the last minute before going to a friend's for dinner and everyone gobbled them up. They aren't super sweet and the oats add a nice texture. I baked mine until the edges began to brown (25min) , let them cool and they slid right out of the pan. I'll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
24 minutes in the oven is way too long for these. I would make them again as the flavor was very good, but would check them after 18 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Made these bars on the week end. They were really good but very "oaty" . Will make again but will reduce the oats to about a 1 cup. Also, added crushed roasted peanuts on top. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Not my favorite. Very dry.No one in my house liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom of 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I may have overbaked this by I'm not sure how long. I got distracted by The Who playing at the Super Bowl halftime- they were just too amazing to miss a second! I'm not sure how much better it would have been if it had not been baked as long, but it wasn't bad. It just needed something that I can't put my finger on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Very good I've made twice already the first time I took them out a couple min. early and they were perfect the second time I cooked the full time and they came out a little dry... will make them again thou :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JIF(R) Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make classic peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States