Layered Chicken and Black Bean Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I made this for the second time tonight. I was not that crazy about it the first time. The changes I made were as follows: I added corn, Rotel tomatoes, one chopped onion and 7 ounces of diced green chilies. Instead of sour cream, I decided to use cottage cheese (approximately a cup and a half). It turned out much better this time. I thought it needed more spice so we generously added chunky salsa and topped it with plain yogurt. Next time, I will add some chili peppers or maybe some cayenne. Very high in protein and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Nampyeon
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Good. Used dried black beans pre-soaked and cooked instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I was searching for a good recipe to use up leftover chicken, and this one was perfect! My elderly 89 & 86 year old parents and the rest of the family loved it! It wasn't too spicy for them. It is an easy recipe to make and the leftovers are just as delicious. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Excellent! Substituted cream of mushroom for sour cream. Left out chili seasonings. Family lived it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This is a very good recipe I used taco seasoning in place of the coriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShirlBrew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thisizkim
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Added a full 7oz can of green chiles and used pre cooked chicken strips (chopped up) instead for convenience. Probably put about 3 cups worth of cheese in it. Served it with rice from a local burrito shop. Served it with cold sour cream for a nice refreshing hit! Delicious and super easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Very good. I mixed the hot enchiladas sauce with mild . I toasted the tortillas as recommended by others and added sweet corn. Would have been good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This was really good! It is easy to change according to what ingredients you have. I added a can of lime and cilantro rotel as I sauteed the chicken, as well as chopped onion and garlic, but I didn't have the coriander or cilantro. I also used much less cheese and sour cream. We also toast our tortillas on a frying pan before layering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
We have made this several times and it is one of a handful that all three kids will eat. I use the enchilada sauce recipe from this site as well to avoid preservatives and msg. Making double batch for a potluck, this is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
It's because of this recipe that I continue to go to this site! This is a great recipe that I have made several times & always follow the recipe to the letter. Always turns out great & other people have complimented on how good it is when I have made it for them. However, it also freezes very well, so there are times where I make it just for myself & freeze whatever is left over for the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 566) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Chicken and Biscuit Casserole

Creamy chicken and vegetable filling topped with basil buttermilk biscuits.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States