Layered Chicken and Black Bean Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
It was a hit! Everyone loved it. Very moist and flavorful and baked nicely. Good presentation and great leftovers! The nice thing about this recipe is that you can add and change so many things about it to really make it exactly what you want. The amounts do not need to be exact, which is another plus for me. Just layered it until it looked right and popped it in the oven for 30 minutes. It sat for about 10 minutes and then we chowed down! I did make a few tweaks, though: Boiled and shredded the chicken breast (I prefer it this way for a Mexican dish - very tender and quick to cook) *Here's a tip: use your stand mixer to shred the chicken. It turns an arduous, dual fork process into a one-step wonder!) Used a packet of pre-made taco seasoning. I love this flavor and cannot seem to create it myself. Added an entire onion, finely chopped and pre-cooked. Used green enchilada sauce instead of red just per preference. Overall great recipe and such a crowd pleaser! Did our own chips and guacamole and some refried beans on the side, a quick side salad and you have a well-rounded meal. Well, don't forget the peanut butter brownies for dessert. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I have made this recipe 3 times now. Each time it has been a real hit with my family. I have 3 'adult' kids==2 college agers plus 1 high schooler---each with very different tastes, but this recipe has been well received by all 3,plus my husband and some visiting family. Leftovers warm up well, too, a real plus. I make it pretty much as directed, but added whole kernel corn the last batch and really loved that addition. I also saute some onions and garlic with the chicken at the beginning. I have used both corn and flour tortillas. There is a difference, to be sure, but we like both versions. I do recommend boiling and shredding the chicken before anything else is done. I think the 'dryness' of the previously cooked and shredded chicken will help those who have found the tortillas to be too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Tastes great and is easy to make - just not spicy enough for our tastes. Recommend getting "Hot" instead of "Mild" sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarzana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I have made this several times and it is one of my personal favorites. The only thing I changed is instead of diced chicken, I buy a Rotisserie Chicken and just shred 2 cups of meat from it.I could eat the whole pan myself! This is also one of my go to recipes for parties. People always love it and always ask for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKFisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Turned this into a canned wonder because it's all I had on hand. You would NEVER think I made this with canned goods! Two cans of canned chicken, one can black beans, add juice of one fresh lime, then blanket of spice to cover beans and chicken: garlic powder, onion powder, coriander, cumin, and a dash of salt. Stir and set aside while assemble other items to give chance for flavors to meld. In baking dish, poured half enchilada sauce can as recipe states, then for my corn tortillas (which I don't think have a lot of flavor on their own), brushed with olive oil and coriander on each side to give more flavor, then layered one layer chicken-bean mixture, then layer cheese then layer sour cream. Added one can diced tomatoes (no salt added) and one can of sliced black olives in the layering, like a lasagna. No green chilies no other ingredients. Came out amazing and quantity yielded 2 meals worth. Hurray for one dinner on table and the rest to batch freeze! And best part, super easy with no grocery shopping! Thanks for a recipe that inspired me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I make this all the time now... like once a week at times :) The only change I made to it was to add more meat because my family loves meat so they requested an additional lb of ground beef to be added but that's it. We crave this recipe all the time! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This was very easy and tasty. Thank you for rec.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
THE BEST! I have never rated a recipe on here because I allways make some type of small change to them, but this one I had to. I did make some changes but it was by far the best ever. Toasted the White corn tortillas first, used a lasagna pan, and layered all like. All though the smells are vey tempting to cut into it as soon as it is done baking, you must let it set for about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Awesome! I used canned green enchilada sauce instead and it was pure heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Made as written, my family & I really liked this recipe. Served with a side of mexican red rice & green salad this was a very filling & satisfying meal. The reasons for 4 instead of 5 stars are because we felt the chicken filling needs a bit more flavor, a tad more sour cream & just a little more sauce on the top for the last 10 minutes because it was a wee bit on the dry side. Not salty as others have said & the recipe doesn't even call for salt (but due my mid-west roots I season everything). A good recipe for those who like their mexican food on the less spicy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 566) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Chicken and Biscuit Casserole

Creamy chicken and vegetable filling topped with basil buttermilk biscuits.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States