Layered Chicken and Black Bean Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I baked the tortillas and they didn't disappear. For me it wasn't a long process at all--saute chicken with onions and spices, add corn, beans, & Greek yogurt, layer as per recipe, bake, and voila! excellent. Persnickety husband had two helpings. I like things oil-free or oil-light and this one adapts well to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I am a VERY picky eater, but my husband isn't, and this worked for both of us. My changes were slight (to me): I used already cooked chicken (seasoned rotisserie; to save time), and I used a can of Rotel instead of green chilies (I don't like the chunks, so I mixed some of the liquid into the chicken mixture, but added the chunky stuff on top of my husband's half). In the end, it came out crazy good. I've never left a review for any recipe before, but I loved this one. I am making it for another family this week who just had a baby. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
It was a delicious, easy way to eat "enchiladas" without all the dipping and filling and rolling of tortillas. I make my own enchilada sauce so mine might have been a little saucier than the recipe called for, but we liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This was really good! I had to omit some items because I didn't have them on hand (cilantro, coriander and sour cream). Next time, I will try with the fresh cilantro and the green chilies, since I used a can of rotel as a substitution for that. I also had to make the red enchilada sauce from scratch because I don't keep that in the pantry, but that was simple enough to make and I had all of the stuff to make it. My husband said to put this in the meal rotation!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
My family enjoys this recipe so much that we have it a couple of times a month. When I'm pressed for time I use rotisserie chicken with doubled cumin and coriander. Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This was good. I would make it again. I did add a can of mexi corn to the mix and used flour tortillas instead of corn. We just like the flour ones better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Didn't change the recipe too much. I had to make a casserole for college students on short notice so used some ingredients in home for substitution. Used already-cooked chicken breast meat, shredded and added one can of turkey chili to the meat to make more volume for the casserole. The kids LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Very good, but we made some minor changes to better suite our taste buds. We left out the sour cream and just added it once we served the dish. Next time I think I'll incorporate some of the sour cream into the first layer, but 8oz of sour cream is way too much for our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I have a habit of using recipes for inspiration,then using what I have on hand-it works for me. I used Alaskan caribou,[marinated,slow cooked,then ground] mixed w/ground beef,cooked w/onions,cumin,taco seasoning,then layered as in recipe above,adding jalapenos,yellow rice,& corn in w/ black bean layer-extra pico de guyo under 2nd round of tortillas as well as under top layer of cheese. Loaded it w/sharp cheddar! Used cast iron pot! Served w/chopped lettuce,extra pico,sour cream,& black olives-YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Cache, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was a hiit with my husband & teenage son. I did not toast the tortillas & it was just fine. I did add onions, garlic & chili powder. I also shredded the chicken instead of dicing them. We topped it with chopped lettuce & sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 556) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States