Layered Chicken and Black Bean Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
My family enjoys this recipe so much that we have it a couple of times a month. When I'm pressed for time I use rotisserie chicken with doubled cumin and coriander. Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This was good. I would make it again. I did add a can of mexi corn to the mix and used flour tortillas instead of corn. We just like the flour ones better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Didn't change the recipe too much. I had to make a casserole for college students on short notice so used some ingredients in home for substitution. Used already-cooked chicken breast meat, shredded and added one can of turkey chili to the meat to make more volume for the casserole. The kids LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Very good, but we made some minor changes to better suite our taste buds. We left out the sour cream and just added it once we served the dish. Next time I think I'll incorporate some of the sour cream into the first layer, but 8oz of sour cream is way too much for our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I have a habit of using recipes for inspiration,then using what I have on hand-it works for me. I used Alaskan caribou,[marinated,slow cooked,then ground] mixed w/ground beef,cooked w/onions,cumin,taco seasoning,then layered as in recipe above,adding jalapenos,yellow rice,& corn in w/ black bean layer-extra pico de guyo under 2nd round of tortillas as well as under top layer of cheese. Loaded it w/sharp cheddar! Used cast iron pot! Served w/chopped lettuce,extra pico,sour cream,& black olives-YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Cache, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was a hiit with my husband & teenage son. I did not toast the tortillas & it was just fine. I did add onions, garlic & chili powder. I also shredded the chicken instead of dicing them. We topped it with chopped lettuce & sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
It was a hit! Everyone loved it. Very moist and flavorful and baked nicely. Good presentation and great leftovers! The nice thing about this recipe is that you can add and change so many things about it to really make it exactly what you want. The amounts do not need to be exact, which is another plus for me. Just layered it until it looked right and popped it in the oven for 30 minutes. It sat for about 10 minutes and then we chowed down! I did make a few tweaks, though: Boiled and shredded the chicken breast (I prefer it this way for a Mexican dish - very tender and quick to cook) *Here's a tip: use your stand mixer to shred the chicken. It turns an arduous, dual fork process into a one-step wonder!) Used a packet of pre-made taco seasoning. I love this flavor and cannot seem to create it myself. Added an entire onion, finely chopped and pre-cooked. Used green enchilada sauce instead of red just per preference. Overall great recipe and such a crowd pleaser! Did our own chips and guacamole and some refried beans on the side, a quick side salad and you have a well-rounded meal. Well, don't forget the peanut butter brownies for dessert. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I have made this recipe 3 times now. Each time it has been a real hit with my family. I have 3 'adult' kids==2 college agers plus 1 high schooler---each with very different tastes, but this recipe has been well received by all 3,plus my husband and some visiting family. Leftovers warm up well, too, a real plus. I make it pretty much as directed, but added whole kernel corn the last batch and really loved that addition. I also saute some onions and garlic with the chicken at the beginning. I have used both corn and flour tortillas. There is a difference, to be sure, but we like both versions. I do recommend boiling and shredding the chicken before anything else is done. I think the 'dryness' of the previously cooked and shredded chicken will help those who have found the tortillas to be too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Tastes great and is easy to make - just not spicy enough for our tastes. Recommend getting "Hot" instead of "Mild" sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarzana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I have made this several times and it is one of my personal favorites. The only thing I changed is instead of diced chicken, I buy a Rotisserie Chicken and just shred 2 cups of meat from it.I could eat the whole pan myself! This is also one of my go to recipes for parties. People always love it and always ask for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKFisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 552) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States