Layered Chicken and Black Bean Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This was really good! It is easy to change according to what ingredients you have. I added a can of lime and cilantro rotel as I sauteed the chicken, as well as chopped onion and garlic, but I didn't have the coriander or cilantro. I also used much less cheese and sour cream. We also toast our tortillas on a frying pan before layering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
We have made this several times and it is one of a handful that all three kids will eat. I use the enchilada sauce recipe from this site as well to avoid preservatives and msg. Making double batch for a potluck, this is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
It's because of this recipe that I continue to go to this site! This is a great recipe that I have made several times & always follow the recipe to the letter. Always turns out great & other people have complimented on how good it is when I have made it for them. However, it also freezes very well, so there are times where I make it just for myself & freeze whatever is left over for the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Made this dish tonight for dinner. Yummy. My only deviations from the recipe were: (1) used a large can of red enchilada sauce because that's what I had on hand; (2) added green onions that I wanted to use up; (3) used 12 tortilla's because I had a 13x9 pan; (4) shredded the chicken instead of cubed; and (5) baked the tortillas at 450 for 3 minutes each side as another reviewer suggested. Totally delicious and simple. Served with a side of corn. Can't wait for leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I have made this several times for family & friends and it never fails that someone asks for the recipe :) I use cilantro paste located in the fresh herb section of my grocery store and use 4oz only because I'm a huge fan of cilantro! Very good, very filling! Thanks for the share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staysea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This was great! I didn't have coriander, so I left it out. I used leftover rotisserie chicken. I also added a bit of chunky salsa to the top layer, and a small can of sliced black olives to the chicken mixture. Next time I might mix the salsa with the sour cream to help the sour cream spread out better. I also used a lot of extra cilantro, just because I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Pretty tasty, made it in a 9x13 by mistake so cooked it a little less and it was fine. Also didn't have fresh cilantro, so I used about 1 tbsp of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyJoLo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Pretty good!! I liked it, but next time I might put in a jar of salsa or some Rot-tel tomatoes just to give it a little more flavor and some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
The recipe is wonderful as written. I have tried it with mixing the sour cream with the enchilada sauce and cheese and it made a creamier sauce. I've also used shredded pepper jack and it spices the recipe up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Great comfort food! I used green onions instead of cilantro, still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 569) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Chicken and Biscuit Casserole

Creamy chicken and vegetable filling topped with basil buttermilk biscuits.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States