Layered Chicken and Black Bean Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I was looking for something to make that'd use some leftover cooked chicken breasts I had and make them taste 'different'. I just added the spices into the chicken, bean mixture. Added a can of corn (to clean my pantry) and a bit more enchilada sauce because I didn't want left-over sauce. The casserole was great! Even my picky spouse who is not a great fan of Mexican food really enjoyed it. A great way to change up the taste of leftover chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I would make again. Used a rotiserie chicken from the grocery store. Added the spices to the sour cream. Froze nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
5 stars for me but only 3 stars for hubby. Next time I make this, I will add a little more of the enchilada sauce and maybe some more seasonings for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Wonderful dish - the whole family loved it. I did leave out the coriander since I didn't have any in the house. I also took the advice of others and sprayed my tortillas lightly with Pam and then baked in the oven for approx. 3 minutes on each side. I also used a slightly larger dish & think it would've been a bit more moist had I used more enchilada sauce. I think the amount stated in the recipe is probably fine for the smaller dish. All in all a great dinner & I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
It turned out ok. It looked pretty and very appetizing. However, I would shred the chicken in the future. I didn't like the texture of the chicken cubes. I did add a little chipotle chili powder. I just thought it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aneet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I have 3 teenage boys, and they and my DH tore through this. I added only a little garlic and onion powder while cooking the chicken. I used green sauce because that is what I had on hand. Very good, served with rice and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I have tried this recipe and my family loved it just the way how it was .thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I needed a gluten-free recipe for a party. I changed the recipe by starting with a Rotisserie chicken. I sauteed some onion, green pepper and celery so I would have something to add the spices to. I also used 1 plus 1/2 cans of enchilada sauce and it was still a little drier than I would have liked. If I make it again -- and I probably will -- I will add black olives and diced scallions to the top when I return it to the oven for the second baking. I also made a homemade pico de gallo to go along with it. I definitely needs that or salsa to add some moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I baked the tortillas and they didn't disappear. For me it wasn't a long process at all--saute chicken with onions and spices, add corn, beans, & Greek yogurt, layer as per recipe, bake, and voila! excellent. Persnickety husband had two helpings. I like things oil-free or oil-light and this one adapts well to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 555) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States