Layered Chicken and Black Bean Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
We have made this several times and it is one of a handful that all three kids will eat. I use the enchilada sauce recipe from this site as well to avoid preservatives and msg. Making double batch for a potluck, this is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
It's because of this recipe that I continue to go to this site! This is a great recipe that I have made several times & always follow the recipe to the letter. Always turns out great & other people have complimented on how good it is when I have made it for them. However, it also freezes very well, so there are times where I make it just for myself & freeze whatever is left over for the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Made this dish tonight for dinner. Yummy. My only deviations from the recipe were: (1) used a large can of red enchilada sauce because that's what I had on hand; (2) added green onions that I wanted to use up; (3) used 12 tortilla's because I had a 13x9 pan; (4) shredded the chicken instead of cubed; and (5) baked the tortillas at 450 for 3 minutes each side as another reviewer suggested. Totally delicious and simple. Served with a side of corn. Can't wait for leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I have made this several times for family & friends and it never fails that someone asks for the recipe :) I use cilantro paste located in the fresh herb section of my grocery store and use 4oz only because I'm a huge fan of cilantro! Very good, very filling! Thanks for the share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staysea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This was great! I didn't have coriander, so I left it out. I used leftover rotisserie chicken. I also added a bit of chunky salsa to the top layer, and a small can of sliced black olives to the chicken mixture. Next time I might mix the salsa with the sour cream to help the sour cream spread out better. I also used a lot of extra cilantro, just because I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Pretty tasty, made it in a 9x13 by mistake so cooked it a little less and it was fine. Also didn't have fresh cilantro, so I used about 1 tbsp of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyJoLo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Pretty good!! I liked it, but next time I might put in a jar of salsa or some Rot-tel tomatoes just to give it a little more flavor and some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
The recipe is wonderful as written. I have tried it with mixing the sour cream with the enchilada sauce and cheese and it made a creamier sauce. I've also used shredded pepper jack and it spices the recipe up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Great comfort food! I used green onions instead of cilantro, still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I used this recipe but like most, I modified it just a bit. I used about two whole skinless chicken breasts, diced up into pieces and seared in a pan. I added taco seasoning, could also use fajita seasoning, to season the meat. I covered the chicken with a can of black beans and let that sit while I prepared the rest.I put half a can of sour cream, I think 8 oz., into a bowl with half a jar of taco sauce, or enchilada sauce, and a whole can of Rotel diced tomatoes with green Chile's. Layered the quesadilla strips on the bottom, chicken and beans next, sour cream and taco sauce mixture on top of that, then a heavy layerof Mexican cheese and then repeat one more time. Bake for about 30 mins on 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 558) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States