Layered Chicken and Black Bean Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Pretty good!! I liked it, but next time I might put in a jar of salsa or some Rot-tel tomatoes just to give it a little more flavor and some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
The recipe is wonderful as written. I have tried it with mixing the sour cream with the enchilada sauce and cheese and it made a creamier sauce. I've also used shredded pepper jack and it spices the recipe up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Great comfort food! I used green onions instead of cilantro, still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I used this recipe but like most, I modified it just a bit. I used about two whole skinless chicken breasts, diced up into pieces and seared in a pan. I added taco seasoning, could also use fajita seasoning, to season the meat. I covered the chicken with a can of black beans and let that sit while I prepared the rest.I put half a can of sour cream, I think 8 oz., into a bowl with half a jar of taco sauce, or enchilada sauce, and a whole can of Rotel diced tomatoes with green Chile's. Layered the quesadilla strips on the bottom, chicken and beans next, sour cream and taco sauce mixture on top of that, then a heavy layerof Mexican cheese and then repeat one more time. Bake for about 30 mins on 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
GREAT recipe! I make this at least once or twice a month. I dice up my chicken, sauté it with some cumin and mix it with the sour cream. After many a dinner with this meal, I've found that brushing the tortillas (corn) and baking them in the oven directly on the racks until brown and crispy provides the best results... not soggy tortillas like I experienced the first time making it. I layer as directed with those few changes and it's amazing. My family loves it. It also freezes well... wrap in plastic wrap and foil and when you're ready to reheat, unwrap, pop in an oiled pyrex pan, cover with foil and bake at 375 for about 45 minutes! Thanks for a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatleMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Need a lot more spice, even though I added onions, garlic, and chili powder. The family liked it well enough to play with the recipe a bit. Ended up kind of runny, so we used tortilla chips to scoop it. That was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
My kids don't really like any food that has a Spanish or Mexican foundation. But they love this recipe. I have discovered at the last minute that I didn't have chicken breast and ended up using ground beef. I know it wasn't as healthy but it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I was looking for something to make that'd use some leftover cooked chicken breasts I had and make them taste 'different'. I just added the spices into the chicken, bean mixture. Added a can of corn (to clean my pantry) and a bit more enchilada sauce because I didn't want left-over sauce. The casserole was great! Even my picky spouse who is not a great fan of Mexican food really enjoyed it. A great way to change up the taste of leftover chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I would make again. Used a rotiserie chicken from the grocery store. Added the spices to the sour cream. Froze nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
5 stars for me but only 3 stars for hubby. Next time I make this, I will add a little more of the enchilada sauce and maybe some more seasonings for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 552) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States