Layered Chicken and Black Bean Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Great comfort food! I used green onions instead of cilantro, still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Had leftover turkey breast and wanted to make one of my husband's favorites, enchiladas. But, I really didn't want to deal with the time consuming mess of rolling and filling my corn tortillas, so I tried this recipe for enchiladas casserole. I stuck more to my traditional recipe for the filling, which is sauteed onion and garlic in a little olive oil, added in spices of chili, cumin, coriander, black pepper, and oregano, along with diced green pepper and the can of green chilies. I saved the cilantro for cilantro lime rice so that the flavor isn't muddled. Turned off the heat and added in the whole can of mild enchilada sauce, black beans, corn, 1/2 cup of sour cream and 2 cups of Mexican cheese. My husband LOVES his cheese, and no salt required because of it. I followed the instructions for building the layered casserole, using an entire second can of enchilada sauce. Wow, making and serving this was so much easier than traditional enchiladas, and it still tasted great. I did not put more sour cream on top, but did smother it with more cheese. Garnished each serving with black olives and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I used this recipe but like most, I modified it just a bit. I used about two whole skinless chicken breasts, diced up into pieces and seared in a pan. I added taco seasoning, could also use fajita seasoning, to season the meat. I covered the chicken with a can of black beans and let that sit while I prepared the rest.I put half a can of sour cream, I think 8 oz., into a bowl with half a jar of taco sauce, or enchilada sauce, and a whole can of Rotel diced tomatoes with green Chile's. Layered the quesadilla strips on the bottom, chicken and beans next, sour cream and taco sauce mixture on top of that, then a heavy layerof Mexican cheese and then repeat one more time. Bake for about 30 mins on 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
GREAT recipe! I make this at least once or twice a month. I dice up my chicken, sauté it with some cumin and mix it with the sour cream. After many a dinner with this meal, I've found that brushing the tortillas (corn) and baking them in the oven directly on the racks until brown and crispy provides the best results... not soggy tortillas like I experienced the first time making it. I layer as directed with those few changes and it's amazing. My family loves it. It also freezes well... wrap in plastic wrap and foil and when you're ready to reheat, unwrap, pop in an oiled pyrex pan, cover with foil and bake at 375 for about 45 minutes! Thanks for a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatleMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Need a lot more spice, even though I added onions, garlic, and chili powder. The family liked it well enough to play with the recipe a bit. Ended up kind of runny, so we used tortilla chips to scoop it. That was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
My kids don't really like any food that has a Spanish or Mexican foundation. But they love this recipe. I have discovered at the last minute that I didn't have chicken breast and ended up using ground beef. I know it wasn't as healthy but it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I was looking for something to make that'd use some leftover cooked chicken breasts I had and make them taste 'different'. I just added the spices into the chicken, bean mixture. Added a can of corn (to clean my pantry) and a bit more enchilada sauce because I didn't want left-over sauce. The casserole was great! Even my picky spouse who is not a great fan of Mexican food really enjoyed it. A great way to change up the taste of leftover chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I would make again. Used a rotiserie chicken from the grocery store. Added the spices to the sour cream. Froze nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
5 stars for me but only 3 stars for hubby. Next time I make this, I will add a little more of the enchilada sauce and maybe some more seasonings for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 551) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States