Layered Chicken and Black Bean Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Made this dish tonight for dinner. Yummy. My only deviations from the recipe were: (1) used a large can of red enchilada sauce because that's what I had on hand; (2) added green onions that I wanted to use up; (3) used 12 tortilla's because I had a 13x9 pan; (4) shredded the chicken instead of cubed; and (5) baked the tortillas at 450 for 3 minutes each side as another reviewer suggested. Totally delicious and simple. Served with a side of corn. Can't wait for leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I have made this several times for family & friends and it never fails that someone asks for the recipe :) I use cilantro paste located in the fresh herb section of my grocery store and use 4oz only because I'm a huge fan of cilantro! Very good, very filling! Thanks for the share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staysea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This was great! I didn't have coriander, so I left it out. I used leftover rotisserie chicken. I also added a bit of chunky salsa to the top layer, and a small can of sliced black olives to the chicken mixture. Next time I might mix the salsa with the sour cream to help the sour cream spread out better. I also used a lot of extra cilantro, just because I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Pretty tasty, made it in a 9x13 by mistake so cooked it a little less and it was fine. Also didn't have fresh cilantro, so I used about 1 tbsp of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyJoLo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Pretty good!! I liked it, but next time I might put in a jar of salsa or some Rot-tel tomatoes just to give it a little more flavor and some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
The recipe is wonderful as written. I have tried it with mixing the sour cream with the enchilada sauce and cheese and it made a creamier sauce. I've also used shredded pepper jack and it spices the recipe up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Great comfort food! I used green onions instead of cilantro, still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I used this recipe but like most, I modified it just a bit. I used about two whole skinless chicken breasts, diced up into pieces and seared in a pan. I added taco seasoning, could also use fajita seasoning, to season the meat. I covered the chicken with a can of black beans and let that sit while I prepared the rest.I put half a can of sour cream, I think 8 oz., into a bowl with half a jar of taco sauce, or enchilada sauce, and a whole can of Rotel diced tomatoes with green Chile's. Layered the quesadilla strips on the bottom, chicken and beans next, sour cream and taco sauce mixture on top of that, then a heavy layerof Mexican cheese and then repeat one more time. Bake for about 30 mins on 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
GREAT recipe! I make this at least once or twice a month. I dice up my chicken, sauté it with some cumin and mix it with the sour cream. After many a dinner with this meal, I've found that brushing the tortillas (corn) and baking them in the oven directly on the racks until brown and crispy provides the best results... not soggy tortillas like I experienced the first time making it. I layer as directed with those few changes and it's amazing. My family loves it. It also freezes well... wrap in plastic wrap and foil and when you're ready to reheat, unwrap, pop in an oiled pyrex pan, cover with foil and bake at 375 for about 45 minutes! Thanks for a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatleMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Need a lot more spice, even though I added onions, garlic, and chili powder. The family liked it well enough to play with the recipe a bit. Ended up kind of runny, so we used tortilla chips to scoop it. That was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 556) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States