Lavosh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
I've made this dozens of times and always to many rave reviews. I have substituted dried rosemary for the sesame seeds and added a bit of coarse salt on top. Using a pasta machine makes rolling the dough very thin much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
Just like crackers. They do need to be rolled out very thin and even. I sprinkled salt on one batch, sesame on another and pepper on the last. They were all great. I drew lines with a knife where I wanted the giant 'cracker' to break after being baked and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
When women of my Lutheran Church were having trouble finding unleavened bread for communion, I searched and found this recipe. I baked this unleavened flatbread for Easter Sunday's communion services. It was well received by the congregation and the pastor. Had a little trouble keeping my husband from eating it all before taking it to church. Thank you Sally for sharing this recipe. I have been asked to make it again and it is certainly easy. (I did leave off the sesame seeds for this purpose) I will use it with the sesame seeds for our snacks at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2001
Versatile and very easy to make. I make this bread often. I like to add extra sunflower seeds to the mix. This recipes makes a great thin crispy crust for mini pizzas. Bake them almost till golden, put desired toppings, and bake again until cheese is bubbly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HERRANA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Super easy. I did find, however, that my dough was too wet to work with, so I had to add more flour, and it worked just dandily. I'm in the process of making it again, and I think I'll just use less liquid. It does turn out much like a cracker (great for fruit salsa or yogurt cheese), but if you want a softer bread, bake for less time. Also, I tried topping the two of the bread each with cayenne, parmesean, crushed garlic, and sesame seeds (like it says), and I also made a plain batch. All of them are very nice, especially the parmesean (it gets all wonderfully golden and crunchy). The plain one was kind of bland, but still alright. This recipe goes in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2001
I made this for a 2nd grade class on world's bread. It was so yummy I ate half of them as they were done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
My family loves this recipe. Have made it twice in the past week, with variations of toppings. Cinnamon/sugar is a current favorite. Fun for kids to help make, since it's so easy and they can really get their hands into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
A great flat bread for snacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
...I was so glad to find this recipe! My girlfriend and I used to dine at a restaurant in Scottsdale that served lavosh. They would top it with lots of melted cheese, green chilies, diced tomatoes and avocado...so good! I am freezing half the dough (divided) and am hopeful it with thaw and bake up just as good when needed. Thanks Sally..this recipe will save me lots of ca$h :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPHILLIPS9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
A local restaurant makes this and tops it with havarti cheese, diced grilled chicken and pretty much any diced sauted veggie you like. AWESOME appetizer! I rolled the dough out really thin and made lines where I wanted it to break. I baked it then added the toppings then put it back into the broiler to melt the cheese and get the toppings hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretch727

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How To Make Tempura

Learn the Japanese method for making delicate batter-fried seafood and veggies.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States