Lavosh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Very good and very easy. I did also find the dough to work with. Did add just a bit more flour but could not roll without adding what I felt was too much flour. Solution was to roll on baking parchment with an oiled rolling pin. Just perfect. I used olive oil on my rolling pin. The only ingredient change was to use olive oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
i prepared this recipe at school today. i didnt like "our" recipe we had. this recipe is much better! i also used a manual pasta machine to roll them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawns1ton

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Millbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
My search for a homemade snack cracker has ended! These are delicious, very easy to make (although a bit time-consuming) and can be customized to your tastes by replacing (or adding to) the sesame seeds whatever spices you like--this time I used Kosher salt, garlic pepper, and red pepper flakes. I would suggest only preparing one egg white at a time to use for brushing on before baking as I found one to be more than enough for me. A second would have just been wasted. Also don't be tempted to remove them from the oven too soon. Browner = crisper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Lake, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
A local restaurant makes this and tops it with havarti cheese, diced grilled chicken and pretty much any diced sauted veggie you like. AWESOME appetizer! I rolled the dough out really thin and made lines where I wanted it to break. I baked it then added the toppings then put it back into the broiler to melt the cheese and get the toppings hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen Bixenmann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sonyapizza
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I love this recipe; it's exactly like expensive store-bought flatbreads at a fraction of the cost. I typically add a bit more butter to the dough for a richer flavour. I've also experimented with different toppings, adding some nigella seeds (sometimes called black sesame seeds) along with sesame seeds. The only downside is rolling out all those thin sheets of dough is very labour intensive. But there's no flatbread so delicious as a homemade one - it's worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonyapizza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Thank you i'll never run out of "pita" bread again love the chewy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walks_softly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Used whole wheat flour because that is all I had, and it turned out good! Made into little pizzas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clay Center, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Excellent recipe. I made it several times, and rolled it out using the Atlas pasta machine, which makes it super easy and fast. I've added crushed garlic, chopped rosemary, sahe and thyme, and sprinkled with black pepper on top. What a trea not to have eat store-bought crackers. These are delicious, and sturdy, perfect for dips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I'm so glad to have found this recipe! I have wanted to make a very thin cracker-like pizza crust like a local restaurant serves. This is it! The dough is very easy to handle. To keep the crackers from puffing up too much, I docked the dough before baking (pricked the surface several times with a fork).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Used whole wheat flour. Very cracker like. These can be wrapped in wet and squeezed paper towel or cloth to soften and then filled and rolled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How To Make Tempura

Learn the Japanese method for making delicate batter-fried seafood and veggies.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States