Lavender Tea Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
This bread is really easy to make and very delicious! It has a cake-like texture, but isn't too heavy or too sweet (I might use just a little less sugar next time). The lavender gives it an almost mint-like freshness that's is really quite delightful. A lemon glaze, or a bit of lemon zest in the dough would be a tasty addition. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
AS SOON AS I SAW THIS RECIPE, I TRIED IT WITH MY OWN FRESH LAVENDER...DELICIOUS TEA BREAD! I MADE THE BREAD IN SMALL LOAF PANS - CUT BACK ON THE BAKING TIME BY ABOUT 5 MINUTES OR SO....DELICIOUS AND BEAUTIFUL BREAD - I SERVED IT WARM WITH GOOD STRAWBERRY PRESERVES...VERY EASY RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
Wonderful! Made this once for my choir friends and it didn't last long, once they'd got over the initial shock of baking with something they associate with old ladies' perfume... Now they are always requesting it! And I've actually had to buy more lavender plants, because the one in my herb garden's getting a bit bare. The lavender milk idea is lovely, and if you strain it and add a little sugar it makes a perfect bedtime drink. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
One of the BEST recipes I have ever tried. The first time i made this was for a Mother's day Tea Party I hosted for my Mother, Grandmother, Sister and best friend. The bread disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
Maybe the flavour is too intense... i would put less lavander. But the taste is really interesting and unusually good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manuela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
This is more of a sweet bread such as banana or zuchinni bread beings no yeast is involved, but SO GOOD!!! I made mine with lavender, orange thyme, lemon thyme,lemon balm & one sprig of rosemary...Sounds funny, but rosemary goes very well with citrus in my opinion,,, Topped with seseame seeds..... It was fabulous!!!!! Will top with a powder sugar glaze tomorrow & see how it is,,,, Very moist, cake like bread that I will make again... Leave it to your imagination... varations are endless!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Absolutely fantastic. Easy to make and great as a dessert with tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This an absolutly wonderful and easy to follow recipe. I made it for a ladies tea and used a citrus lavender glaze found on another site. It complimented the bread well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Loved it!!! I used 1 tablespoon dried lavender instead of fresh (wrong season) and only had 1 egg but it turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I added lemon thyme, and pineapple mint as well and it was amazing! *I also did a lemon glaze. C'est tres bon!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States