Lavender Tea Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Easy and unique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sleepingKelly
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I'm giving this 4 stars because the batter is fantastic, but I think I prefer it without the lavender. I guess I'm just not a lavender person. I used 1 tbsp of dry, which I think is just a tad too much. It gets a bit of perfume taste to it. I should have added just a tad more flour because it was a bit crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepingKelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This is fantastic, very different but so good. I only had dried lavender on hand, so I used 1 tablespoon rather than 3, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minerva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Langley Afb, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I used a bit less lavender than called for. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla. I think it may have been overpowering if I hadn't made those changes. Overall very good, try it warm with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aim game

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I loved this. A nice delicate crumb and flavor. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I haven't made this yet, but I felt the need to help. When baking/cooking w/lavender you use the flower, NOT the leaves. The loves are used in cosmetics. It is best to steep the flower in the warm liquid (in this case, milk), than removing the flower and adding the liquid to the recipe. I am looking forward to trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This recipe disappointed me. I followed the directions, except using splenda instead of sugar (Which I do all the time in baking recipes). The bread rose just like in the photo but when I took it out of the oven it collapsed completely and became flat and dense. I don't know what could have gone wrong. I make quick breads regularly and have never had this happen. Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
made for mom. good but a little dry. use gluten free flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chez Raena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I added lemon thyme, and pineapple mint as well and it was amazing! *I also did a lemon glaze. C'est tres bon!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Smita
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Excellent recipe. I made this with freshly chopped lavender leaves. Simmering them in milk was a great idea. Also substituted 1 c amaranth flour. Topped with a light lemon glaze (just freshly squeezed lemon juice and sugar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States