Lavender Tea Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Fantastic! I used dried lavender and it was still really good! I made 2 mini loaves, but I should have made 3, they ran over. I will be keeping this recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
OHMYGOD this lavender tea cake is amazing. I must say I substituted soy milk for real milk, just because there was none of the latter at our house. I kept all the other elements the same. So flavorful. Not ridiculously crumbly and soft in all the right ways! Kudos! Just a note, don't forget to take the lavender leaves off the stem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This bread was wonderful! I used about two tablespoons of fresh lavender from the garden and some others suggested to lower the sugar to half a cup so I lower it to a happy medium at 3/4 cup of sugar. I also added 1/2 - 3/4 cup of fresh blueberries. I also had to let it bake for twenty extra minutes, but it was wonderful. It wasnt dry or too dense. It was perfect! I will be doing this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Delicious. I had to bake it a little longer (my oven is screwey) and I think I overdid it b/c it was a little dry, but it was still amazing. I've never cooked with lavender before and this was a successful experiment! I would definitely make it again. My roommates loved the smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This unique bread was moist and sweet with a delicate taste of lavender. It seems more like cake than bread to me, but delicious either way and very easy to make. I steeped my chopped lavender leaves in the milk for about 20 minutes, then strained the milk and used it (without the leaves) in the recipe and this seemed to work very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This tea bread is a pleasant surprise. It produced a lovely light crumb and a beautiful crust with just the right amount of crispness. My kids compared the crust to 'cookies' (interpret that however you like :) and ate half the loaf before it was cool. I was using dried lavender, so chose a half tablespoon measure of it, which imparted a subtle taste, but it was definitely there. I find it resembles mint somewhat. I also added a tsp of fresh lemon zest, and a tsp of vanilla. I used 3 egg whites instead of the two whole eggs and canola oil instead of butter. I will be making this bread again. Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I loved this recipe and the pictures you had about the mint. A girl after my own heart. Living in Portland I know it grows like weeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Added crushed almonds because i thought the leaves smell might overpower it.. It tasted quite nice. One thing though, if you've got really high quality leaves, u need to cut down on them. I used 2 and a half tablespoon and still felt it was overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodelicious
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Fragrant, lovely, slightly dense tea bread. I made it with fresh lavender from my garden, which added another reason to enjoy this recipe. The next time I make this, I'll reduce the amount of lavender to 2 tablespoons because it is possible to have too much of a good thing. I also glazed my loaf with confectioners' sugar mixed with freshly squeezed lime juice. Heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States