Lavender Tea Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
I wasn't sure which part of the lavender plant to use in this recipe. The first time I made it, I used the blossoms, which didn't chop very well. The second time, I used the leaves, and the bread turned out much better. In fact, it won second prize at our local fair. The bread was definitely different and not something I'd want all the time, but it would make a good bread for a tea or shower and definitely improves with strawberry preserves. It's also firm enough to toast and smells delicious when prepared that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I haven't made this yet, but I felt the need to help. When baking/cooking w/lavender you use the flower, NOT the leaves. The loves are used in cosmetics. It is best to steep the flower in the warm liquid (in this case, milk), than removing the flower and adding the liquid to the recipe. I am looking forward to trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
This bread is really easy to make and very delicious! It has a cake-like texture, but isn't too heavy or too sweet (I might use just a little less sugar next time). The lavender gives it an almost mint-like freshness that's is really quite delightful. A lemon glaze, or a bit of lemon zest in the dough would be a tasty addition. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This bread is very different and quite tasty. I also prepared a citrus glaze: 1/2 cup sugar, 2 tbsp lemon juice, 2 tbsp orange juice and 1 tbsp lavender blooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
AS SOON AS I SAW THIS RECIPE, I TRIED IT WITH MY OWN FRESH LAVENDER...DELICIOUS TEA BREAD! I MADE THE BREAD IN SMALL LOAF PANS - CUT BACK ON THE BAKING TIME BY ABOUT 5 MINUTES OR SO....DELICIOUS AND BEAUTIFUL BREAD - I SERVED IT WARM WITH GOOD STRAWBERRY PRESERVES...VERY EASY RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
Maybe the flavour is too intense... i would put less lavander. But the taste is really interesting and unusually good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manuela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
This is more of a sweet bread such as banana or zuchinni bread beings no yeast is involved, but SO GOOD!!! I made mine with lavender, orange thyme, lemon thyme,lemon balm & one sprig of rosemary...Sounds funny, but rosemary goes very well with citrus in my opinion,,, Topped with seseame seeds..... It was fabulous!!!!! Will top with a powder sugar glaze tomorrow & see how it is,,,, Very moist, cake like bread that I will make again... Leave it to your imagination... varations are endless!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodelicious
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Fragrant, lovely, slightly dense tea bread. I made it with fresh lavender from my garden, which added another reason to enjoy this recipe. The next time I make this, I'll reduce the amount of lavender to 2 tablespoons because it is possible to have too much of a good thing. I also glazed my loaf with confectioners' sugar mixed with freshly squeezed lime juice. Heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I made this with 3 tablespoons and it was too strong. When I made it the second time, I used 2 tablespoons and made mini loaves so that I can try the citrus-lavender glaze that another poster added. The glaze is a great addition and we like it better than without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I love lemon with lavender, so I added the juice from 1 lemon (close to half a cup) and a tablespoon of lemon zest. It was delicious and added some moisture to this bread which is a little on the dry side. The texture with the lemon juice added was closer to pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States