Lavender Tea Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
I substituted the butter for "unsalted butter" and used a bit less of the lavender. It's very light and not too sweet. My oven bakes quickly, so the bread was done in 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
I wasn't sure which part of the lavender plant to use in this recipe. The first time I made it, I used the blossoms, which didn't chop very well. The second time, I used the leaves, and the bread turned out much better. In fact, it won second prize at our local fair. The bread was definitely different and not something I'd want all the time, but it would make a good bread for a tea or shower and definitely improves with strawberry preserves. It's also firm enough to toast and smells delicious when prepared that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
This is more of a sweet bread such as banana or zuchinni bread beings no yeast is involved, but SO GOOD!!! I made mine with lavender, orange thyme, lemon thyme,lemon balm & one sprig of rosemary...Sounds funny, but rosemary goes very well with citrus in my opinion,,, Topped with seseame seeds..... It was fabulous!!!!! Will top with a powder sugar glaze tomorrow & see how it is,,,, Very moist, cake like bread that I will make again... Leave it to your imagination... varations are endless!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
Wonderful! Made this once for my choir friends and it didn't last long, once they'd got over the initial shock of baking with something they associate with old ladies' perfume... Now they are always requesting it! And I've actually had to buy more lavender plants, because the one in my herb garden's getting a bit bare. The lavender milk idea is lovely, and if you strain it and add a little sugar it makes a perfect bedtime drink. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
I loved it. Such a delicate flavor. The house smelled wonderful when it was baking as well. Lavender is such a nice flavor to add to things. It gives it a bit of an unexpected twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
This bread is really easy to make and very delicious! It has a cake-like texture, but isn't too heavy or too sweet (I might use just a little less sugar next time). The lavender gives it an almost mint-like freshness that's is really quite delightful. A lemon glaze, or a bit of lemon zest in the dough would be a tasty addition. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
Maybe the flavour is too intense... i would put less lavander. But the taste is really interesting and unusually good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manuela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
AS SOON AS I SAW THIS RECIPE, I TRIED IT WITH MY OWN FRESH LAVENDER...DELICIOUS TEA BREAD! I MADE THE BREAD IN SMALL LOAF PANS - CUT BACK ON THE BAKING TIME BY ABOUT 5 MINUTES OR SO....DELICIOUS AND BEAUTIFUL BREAD - I SERVED IT WARM WITH GOOD STRAWBERRY PRESERVES...VERY EASY RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States