Lavender Tea Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Smita
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Excellent recipe. I made this with freshly chopped lavender leaves. Simmering them in milk was a great idea. Also substituted 1 c amaranth flour. Topped with a light lemon glaze (just freshly squeezed lemon juice and sugar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This bread was just perfectly sweet and eggy. i would recommend grinding the lavender with a mortar/pestle or food processor to infuse the bread more evenly. i served this with homemade concord grape jelly and people LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I thought this was okay. I used fresh lavender from my garden, but I didn't think it tasted much like lavender at all. It was good, but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This bread is very different and quite tasty. I also prepared a citrus glaze: 1/2 cup sugar, 2 tbsp lemon juice, 2 tbsp orange juice and 1 tbsp lavender blooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This an absolutly wonderful and easy to follow recipe. I made it for a ladies tea and used a citrus lavender glaze found on another site. It complimented the bread well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Loved it!!! I used 1 tablespoon dried lavender instead of fresh (wrong season) and only had 1 egg but it turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Good bread! very tasty and perfect with tea. I used 2 tablespoons of lavender and it was fine. If I make it again I will put a little less sugar in it. It was a tad too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I made this with 3 tablespoons and it was too strong. When I made it the second time, I used 2 tablespoons and made mini loaves so that I can try the citrus-lavender glaze that another poster added. The glaze is a great addition and we like it better than without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
One of the BEST recipes I have ever tried. The first time i made this was for a Mother's day Tea Party I hosted for my Mother, Grandmother, Sister and best friend. The bread disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Absolutely fantastic. Easy to make and great as a dessert with tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States