Lavender Tea Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
If you order lavender for baking, you use the blossoms not the leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ham Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
The tea bread came out light and fluffy and golden, and the scent was delicious. But personally, I found the taste of lavender overpowering. I used fresh lavender flowers from my herb garden. If I make this again, I will probably use less than half the amount of lavender and strain all the flowers out of the milk before using. I did squeeze some lemon in before baking, and that gave a very pleasant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Love this! Next time I'm going to try to make muffins instead of a loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Iowa, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I love lemon with lavender, so I added the juice from 1 lemon (close to half a cup) and a tablespoon of lemon zest. It was delicious and added some moisture to this bread which is a little on the dry side. The texture with the lemon juice added was closer to pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This was insanely delicious. My husband and I spread some raspberry preserves on it right after it came out of the oven. I veganized the recipe, as well. I used 3/4 cup unsweetened Silk soy milk instead of cow milk, no eggs, and added 1 tsp baking soda and 1 tsp white vinegar to help it rise. I also baked it at 350 for 50 minutes, divided between 2 mini aluminum foil loaf pans. Turned out amazing, flaky, moist and delicious! Perfect for my current lavender obsession.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MarquisWife
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Very nice! I ended up grinding half of the lavender so it would mix more easily into the batter. I also made the citrus glaze and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarquisWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Very good....a soft flavour and very easy to make. I used dry lavender so I reduced to 1 1/2 Tbs. It is a little bit dry but remember this is a bread not a cake. I put a lemon frosting on top and the combination went absolutely fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Great tea bread but dries out quickly. Make sure to store it in an airtight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Excellent recipe. I used lavender blossom honey to replace the sugar, exciting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Fantastic! I used dried lavender and it was still really good! I made 2 mini loaves, but I should have made 3, they ran over. I will be keeping this recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States