Lavender Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Used lavender from my yard...followed recipe exact except I followed some others and rolled the dough into 2 "logs" and refrigerated that then cut into 1/4" slices. I loved these! Will be adding to my favorite "summer" cookie list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I did not follow the recipe exactly, but I loved what the result I got. (Instead of two tablespoons of lavender and one tablespoon of mint, I used three and half tablespoons of mint.) Even with all the mint, the lemon was almost overpowering. However, they were still delicious. In the future, I'll experiment with more mint and maybe less lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I have tried so many shortbread recipes to find one that has the right texture, flavor and balance of sweetness. These have a nice flavor and I especially like the nice light texture. I have made all sorts of flavor variations of these with different kinds of herbs (rosemary, lavender, mint, etc.) All good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Very good! My mix was very very dry, however... I had to add a T of cream to make it stick together. But easy to work with and wonderful texture in the finished result. I made them for St. Patty's Day so I brushed the cookies with water and sprinkled them with dark green, light green and gold sugars before baking. Also I used dried mint and lavender, using half of the given amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Wow, these are interesting and delicious!! I skipped the mint and squeezed the juice of 1/2 of a lemon into the dough for a little extra flavor (in addition to the lemon zest). The lavender scent was fairly strong when the cookies were baking but the taste was absolutely perfect once they had cooled a few minutes. (I used dried lavender flowers) Anyone who likes shortbread will loves these little gems!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
These are were a most delicious shortbread cookie! I used dried lavender, zest of one medium sized lemon, and a sprinkle of dried mint. They were easy to make and too easy to eat! The batter did sit, unfinished - waiting for the dry ingredients for many hours. Then I completed batter, refrigerated and baked the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I LOVE these cookies. They are absolutely delicious, and everyone around me loves them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made these cookies for a tea party. The recipe did not call for unsalted butter, so I used salted plus the 1/4 teasp. salt. I think overall the cookies were buttery and good and the lavendar really added a nice, interesting flavor, but after they cooled you could really taste the salt. So only suggestion is to use unsalted butter. Also, I didn't use the mint and used fresh lavendar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I had to add more flour for my cutouts to keep their shape crisply, but the recipe was an excellent starting point. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Excellent and easy. Very short. The lemon is just right with the lavender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States